Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Have never attempted a shrimp and grits recipe until now, but always figured I'd never find a recipe as good as what you'd eat in a restaurant. As I searched for recipes I would pass on many because the list of ingredients didn't seem quite the taste I was going for. But WOWWW, this one nailed it! It was wonderful and a definite worthy of guests meal! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! It will be one of my new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I use allrecipes for dinner at least a couple of times a week for the last 10 years. This is BY FAR my favorite recipe from the site, and probably my new "favorite dinner". The grits were AMAZING, and so was the rest of the dish. I followed the recipe exactly as written. The entire house LOVED it, even my 6 year old. Thank you submitter for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Loved it. Not a real big fan of spicy (hot) but with all the flavors of this dish, I'll put up with it! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Kunze

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Made this for my son and I and let me tell you we couldn't eat enough. This dish has so much flavor going on, spicy, meaty, tangy and creamy. Oh my gosh. Bought the ingredients today to make it again. Yoo hoo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Boyd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA
Living In: Independence, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I really like this recipe mostly because I like shrimp and grits although never together before. It is an unusual combination. My family, however, is primarily used to grits with sugar and syrup as a breakfast and as a result was not sold on the unusual dinner. I will warn anyone interested in trying this recipe that it is very, very filling. Feels like eating a five course meal when you get done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Never had shrimp and grits before, so can't compare. This was a strange marriage of jambalaya and creamy polenta. I didn't think they belonged together, but separate they are delicious. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Well worth the effort! I used instant grits, followed the directions on the back of the box, and omitted the half and half as not to alter the consistency. Perfect with the cheddar cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Excellent recipe, i made this dish the other night and it was great. When you mix your seasonings go for it. My family loved it, we also tried this dish over Jasmine Rice instead of grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Layummy
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Great recipe! Everyone loved it. I had to take a few shortcuts that I don't think made to much difference, such as I used Cajun seasoning for shrimp rather than salt and cayenne. I had no bacon so I sautéed everything in Olive Oil and a little butter(tossed in real bacon bits)which still added smoky bacon flavor. I cooked instant grits at the last minute and stirred in Vermont white sharp cheddar and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACALK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States