Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This was freaking AHHHMAZING!!!! Possibly my BEST dinner ever. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Very good! I had never heard of the shrimp and grits combo until my husband mentioned that he wanted it for dinner. Well, I made him make it and it was excellent! He followed the recipe exactly except for Worcestershire because we were out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
There couldn't possibly be a quicker or more delicious shrimp and grits recipe! I use this recipe to feed my ever-growing teen boys and their friends. The sausage adds lots of meat without much cost. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Can you say YUMMMMEEEEEEEE? This was fantastic. only thing I did different was omit the bacon since I forgot to buy it and I used queso cheese instead. Other than that the directions were right on the button and the flavors, well, YUMMMMEEEEEEEE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
wish i could give it more than 5 stars. I omitted bacon and salt. I used 2 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup of water instead of 3 cups of water. i saved shrimp from sausage mixture and added it to flour butter roux. I cooked the shrimp just until barely done. This is the best meal on the planetl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Flores

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
My favorite recipe to make for guests. It tastes SO GOOD and looks just wonderful on the plate. It's easy to make, yet looks like it took hours to do. Really, it's the perfect meal :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Abbeville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Wow! Made this for my husband and he devoured it....said it was the best dish I have ever made. This is a great recipe and hearty. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This recipe is fabulous! The only thing I did different was skip the grits portion of the recipe and instead substituted cooked quinoa to serve with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This dish is wonderful I have made it twice now and the only thing I changed was how I made my grits. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjhutchins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselberry, Florida, USA
Living In: Mount Dora, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Delicious! I really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States