Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This was freaking AHHHMAZING!!!! Possibly my BEST dinner ever. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Absolutely the BEST Shrimp and Grits I have ever made! My son does not like Shrimp and Grits but after trying this, his response was "This is how Shrimp and Grits should be made". All smiles in this household!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomaston, Georgia, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Can you say YUMMMMEEEEEEEE? This was fantastic. only thing I did different was omit the bacon since I forgot to buy it and I used queso cheese instead. Other than that the directions were right on the button and the flavors, well, YUMMMMEEEEEEEE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Shrimp and Grits - a dish that has been nagging me for years to try it. Last week, while in Memphis, I finally tried it and fell in lust. But the dish was VERY spicy and on the greasy side and I knew I could do better. I researched Shrimp and Grits on my flight home and learned a lot, not the least of which was that it was originally a breakfast dish. I also learned there are as many ways to make it as Mama makes her meatballs, and everyone thinks theirs is the true and only way to make it. I say bah! Make what appeals to you - wine, no wine, tomatoes or not, okra, no okra, cream or no. The variations seemed endless. Make what appeals to you - and this recipe appealed to me. It ran circles around the dish I had at a popular restaurant in Memphis (clearly they do much better with barbecue!) and both Hubs and I thought this was "lick-your-plate-clean good." Because it is my preference I used polenta rather than grits, but the difference, really, is marginal. I used chicken broth in the polenta/grits rather than the water simply so as not to waste what I had left. It just contributed a richer flavor anyway! The recipe itself is perfect in my mind. I can't say enough how blown away Hubs and I both were over this. It is traditionally a humble dish, but it is also quite elegant - something I will be sure to keep in mind when I want to impress. Once again, this version of Shrimp and Grits is a real "beaut" and I would suggest following it to the letter. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by MamaK's
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I saw another recipe for shrimp and grits on this site and it made me explore the other shrimp and grit recipes. This one is fabulous! I made a few minor adjustments for my taste and they worked out just fine. I used chicken Andouille sausage from Trader Joes,green, red and orange peppers, added fresh asparagus and canned diced tomatoes ( would have preferred fresh but didn't have any). I added a bit more cayenne because my family likes a little more heat and kept everything else the same. As far as the grits go I added garlic powder, but I also put a couple of shakes of ground red pepper to the mix. It definitely kicked it up a notch and married well with the shrimp mixture. The shrimp combo on top of the cheese grits was a taste explosion in my mouth! When my daughter and cousin came in the next day they immediately wanted to know what the wonderful smell was and both sat down and had a bowl. The flavors were even more electrifying the next day. The beauty in this is you can tweak this recipe to your liking. I chose to add more veggies. Keep in mind if you add more veggies they create more liquid. If you like a thicker gravy adjust your flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaK's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
wish i could give it more than 5 stars. I omitted bacon and salt. I used 2 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup of water instead of 3 cups of water. i saved shrimp from sausage mixture and added it to flour butter roux. I cooked the shrimp just until barely done. This is the best meal on the planetl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Flores

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Being born and raised in Charleston, South Carolina, means I have a very high standard for shrimp and grits. It was, after all, invented hereabouts. This recipe definitely passed the test. I used locally stone ground grits (which are so good that you will be ruined for the cheap stuff at the grocery store) and fresh local shrimp from right down the road (the best shrimp I can get, in other words). I was doubtful about the andouille sausage; I thought it would be gilding the lily at first, but I shrugged my shoulders and added it in anyway. With the first bite, my doubts were layed to rest. The sausage added a wonderful smoky, meaty note to the dish that's not usually found in classic shrimp and grits. I, of course, added garlic powder and butter to the grits, because it's better that way, and sprinkled a little paprika over the whole thing, and it was perfection. Definitely a new staple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Very good! I had never heard of the shrimp and grits combo until my husband mentioned that he wanted it for dinner. Well, I made him make it and it was excellent! He followed the recipe exactly except for Worcestershire because we were out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
My doctor would have a fit about all that's bad about this recipe, and I honestly wouldn't make it often, but I sure will make it again - as I shake my fist at death. I made it very nearly as written, and it was marvelous. The flavors were well-balanced. Next time, I think I will try to reduce the fat somewhat, but do try the recipe as written once, at the very least. Thanks to the author for a spendid recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Absolutely fantastic. My husband was born and raised in Carleston SC. I made this when he made a special request for shrimp and grits. I'd never made it before so I was kind of nervous. He and the rest of my family loved it. My husband said it was better than a lot of restaurants he'd tried it in. The only changes I made were adding a few dashes of extra cayenne to the shrimp mixture once it was complete and adding some american cheese in addition to the cheddar in with the grits. i will definitely make ths again. I think it will make a great dinner for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States