Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I made this yesterday. OMG it was so good!!! The flavors are perfect. This recipe is definitely a keeper and a sure way to impress guests. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Awesome ! We adjusted the recipe for 4 and now wish we had made 8 ! We could not find andouille sausage here in Florida and substituted it with Portuguese chourico sausage which from researching should come close in taste and we used frozen in the shell raw shrimp thawed and removed the shell prior to cooking the texture was great when it was cooked. Next time just a dash more cayenne pepper. This was an amazing dish we sat there looking at each other almost in disbelief that we had created this meal. Adding the half and half to the gits made them so creamy and with the cheese oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Raidt
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
We used shrimp stock instead of chicken broth and Gouda instead of Cheddar. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Excellent recipe. Big thumbs up from everyone at the supper table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darlasue
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Very good. It took a while to make, but it was well worth it. While making this I realized that I was out of grits, so I had to use rice. Still good with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Came out delicious. Have made it several times since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Oh. My. Word. I won't admit how fast the two of us went through the 8 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
The best Shrimp and grits we have ever had. The recipe is easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This is amazing! So delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Very tasty, rich, & filling. I would recommend 2 changes: First, I simmer (perk) my grit for 30-40 minutes to make them as fluffy as possible. Undercooked, grainy grit are not southern style & not worth eating in my estimation...usually prepared by a yankee. Last, I would make half the amount of roux in the future or be prepared to add additional chicken stock. My wife doesn't ordinarily eat grits, but thoroughly enjoyed these w/ sharp cheddar, cooked to death. Smoked sausage works well too; don't like andouille
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States