Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This was amazing. My husband raved about it. I used 1/4 link of jalapeño sausage instead of andouille. I used 5 minute grits(I couldn't find course ground in small town grocery). I had to add an additional half cups of grits to make thicker. I omitted the garlic, sorry can't eat much. I topped the dish with chopped green onion. Absolutely delicious. Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lithophylic
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Probably the best I have made. Just wish I had had enough room for thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Excellent will do again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I gave the recipe a four because it was time-consuming and the directions were difficult to follow. That being said, I thought I would never make it again... Until we tasted it. IT WAS WONDERFUL. I enjoyed it more than my favorite shrimp 'n grits place in Murrell's Inlet, SC. My husband thought it was perfect southern, comfort food, especially up here in Northern Illinois. It did take a lot longer for the grits to thicken than the recipe said; at least twice as long. I also used two cups of broth to make the sauce. I WILL MAKE IT AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
The recipe was absolutely delicious. I made half the recipe and adjusted ingredients accordingly. I used some orange, yellow and red pepper. My husband and I don't like green. I bought chicken andouille sausage which helped to cut the calories a little. We didn't taste the difference. I didn't pay attention to the recipe and accidentally added the chicken broth to the flour/butter mixture and made a roux. It worked beautifully because I didn't have to worry about the flour/butter burning. Don't know if I would do it the recipe way because this worked out so well. I don't think my changes were considerable; it really was a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I love shrimp and grits so was enthusiastic about trying this recipe. It is a bit time consuming to prepare, and a lot of cookware is used, but the results were great. My husband does not like grits, and he reminded me of that when I told him what we were having, but he loved it. I think the addition of the bacon and sausage cinched the "taste test". The only thing I did different was to put the grits and cheese mixture into a casserole dish, pour the shrimp mixture over it, and sprinkle with a little cheese before setting in a 225 degree oven to keep it warm while I cleaned up the mess I had made in the kitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
It started out, my wife said she doesn't like grits. Or peppers. I made it anyway. Left out the sausage, didn't have any. Put in more bacon instead. She devoured it. And seconds. And than she said she would order this in a restaurant. She has never said that in 23 years of my cooking. This was one of the best tasting dishes I've ever had. She said she wouldn't eat the grits alone, but with the shrimp, it was a perfect combination. This recipe is a keeper. Thank you for this. It was fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken Gomberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Loved it. Needs more than one cup of chicken stock to keep the gravy from getting too thick while the shrimp cook. Otherwise, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Time consuming for the mother of a 3 year old and a 1 year old. Worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnodell04

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Yummmmazing! I'm not even a huge shrimp and grits fan, but this changed my opinion! My husband is a huge shrimp and grits lover so when he was pretty down in the dumps with the long hours and little sleep life as a resident physician, I surprised him with this recipe and he was so excited. He had had shrimp and grits in Columbia, sc last year which he thought were amazing and still talks about BUTTTTT he told me he liked these even better! I was pretty pleased with his reaction and definitely added it to the "will make again" collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States