Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I by no means am a big cooker, but I followed this receipe to the letter for a church function and it was GREAT!! It was a big hit!! My boyfriend almost didn't want me to take it to church. It is a great receipe and I highly recommend it. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Awesomeness!!! I followed this recipe almost exactly - I forgot the Worcestershire - and, it was better than any restaurant Shrimp & Grits I've ever had!! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This recipe is great.. My husband, who never gives compliments on cooking, said this is probably one of your best dinners ever. It is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This is very very tasty and very spicy! I may switch to a less fiery sausage choice next time. You should also note that this recipe takes a lot of prep and every pot in your kitchen will be dirty when you're done:-) In the end, it will be worth the effort. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I thought this was really tasty, although it's a heart attack on a plate! I thought the grits were too rich and thick , I would substitute milk for at least half of the half½ and maybe add a few more tablespoons of liquid. The sauce also was too thick, I increased the chicken broth by 50%. I will probably make this again with those modifications, and also probably cut the sausage into small cubes, and or substitute Virginia ham, which is how my favorite local restaurant makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fivefthoney
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Omg this was so good. Never had grits before till I went to Hilton Head,SC and it was so good. Came across this recipe and it reminded me of it. Decided to try it myself. It was awesome. Made a few changes, did turkey sausage and left out the bacon since I don't eat pork. It still was really good. My son even ate it and he's 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I was looking for a recipe with ingredients I already have and found this one-sooo good I served it in a bowl on a bed of spinach. My husband is really picky but loved this! The cayenne kick complimented the cheesy grits. I Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Shrimp and Grits - a dish that has been nagging me for years to try it. Last week, while in Memphis, I finally tried it and fell in lust. But the dish was VERY spicy and on the greasy side and I knew I could do better. I researched Shrimp and Grits on my flight home and learned a lot, not the least of which was that it was originally a breakfast dish. I also learned there are as many ways to make it as Mama makes her meatballs, and everyone thinks theirs is the true and only way to make it. I say bah! Make what appeals to you - wine, no wine, tomatoes or not, okra, no okra, cream or no. The variations seemed endless. Make what appeals to you - and this recipe appealed to me. It ran circles around the dish I had at a popular restaurant in Memphis (clearly they do much better with barbecue!) and both Hubs and I thought this was "lick-your-plate-clean good." Because it is my preference I used polenta rather than grits, but the difference, really, is marginal. I used chicken broth in the polenta/grits rather than the water simply so as not to waste what I had left. It just contributed a richer flavor anyway! The recipe itself is perfect in my mind. I can't say enough how blown away Hubs and I both were over this. It is traditionally a humble dish, but it is also quite elegant - something I will be sure to keep in mind when I want to impress. Once again, this version of Shrimp and Grits is a real "beaut" and I would suggest following it to the letter. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This immediately became my husbands favorite dish. Being somewhat new at cooking this takes me a while to make it but worth every minute. Perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This was amazing. My husband raved about it. I used 1/4 link of jalapeño sausage instead of andouille. I used 5 minute grits(I couldn't find course ground in small town grocery). I had to add an additional half cups of grits to make thicker. I omitted the garlic, sorry can't eat much. I topped the dish with chopped green onion. Absolutely delicious. Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States