Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I tried this recipe today for the first time, I served it for brunch and my family loved it. I made a few changes: omitted the bacon, seasoned the shrimp with Old Bay seasoning, used seafood stock instead of chicken broth for the sauce. I also used less half & half than the recipe called for because it seemed too soupy, but next time I'll use more -the grits stiffened while I was preparing the shrimp. It was absolutely delicious, this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe! My goal was to find a dish that reminds me of South Carolina (low country) shrimp and grits...well this it! My family love this recipe and demanded me to put it in our weekly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meg Burns
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Fabulous! So flavorful! We replaced the half and half with chicken broth, added mushrooms, and sprinkled chopped green onions on the top. Will be a family holiday tradition henceforth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Burns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Crazy good. Should be illegal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Best grits ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
My southern husband and I absolutely love this recipe! It's easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I do not live in grits country... the only thing at my grocery store was the instant kind, and I found that preparing them first led to gummy consistency. I recommend paying attention to the instructions on your grits package, maybe waiting until the end to prepare if using the quick grits - but otherwise this is an AWESOME recipe, the shrimp part turned out fantastic as written. Serve with some Tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Awesome.... Follow exactly as described, came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ritchie Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jelani Watkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Killer!!!! Best ever tasted. Husband is allergic to shellfish, so sub'd roast chicken for shrimp. Increased lemon juice (additional fresh squeeze over chicken). Son, who has complimented me three times in his life (he's 20) on my cooking, raved about this. LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States