Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Cook the bacon first, add an extra slice or two and use the extra when making the grits. Next day leftovers make for great breakfast fried cheese grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
If I was on death row this would be my last meal!!! This is the best meal I have ever eaten! It was heaven in my mouth. Don't be intimidated with all the steps. Just do all the prep work first then tackle the recipe as it is really easy. It will be worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is the best thing ever. I made the recipes as is except used chorizo instead of andouille and no yellow pepper. Awesome, everyone loved it! This is a keeper and not too cumbersome to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This recipe is amazingly good and fine restaurant quality. However, it was a bit difficult to make and quite time-consuming. The challenge was to keep the grits smooth while completing the remaining steps. I was pretty tired when finished, but the result was definitely worth the effort. It will be a special occasion recipe for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This recipe was excellent! Everyone loved it and it made great leftovers (we are empty nesters). The only change I will make is substituting little smokies for the spicy andoulli sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Absolutely delicious as is! Have made this twice so far and I never have any left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catbrowning
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written and LOVED IT! Made it again and added a well-drained can of fire-roasted diced tomatoes and that was equally good. My husband really hates grits, so I made him some yellow rice for him and he loved it too. Definitely a keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
this was very tasty, great flavor but way too much butter. also, it's a lot of pots and pans. would probably make this again but cut back on the butter. I made my grits in a crock pot which saved tons of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I was really looking forward to this but the grits are terrible. 2 teaspoons of salt is way to much and the grits were extremely salty. I am new to making grits so I will know better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I by no means am a big cooker, but I followed this receipe to the letter for a church function and it was GREAT!! It was a big hit!! My boyfriend almost didn't want me to take it to church. It is a great receipe and I highly recommend it. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States