Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Pricilla
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This was delicious! But as usual I didn't have all the ingredients. I had to substitute the flour with pancake mix since I didn't realize we were out and I had to substitute worcestershire sauce with hickory smoke flavoring. Milk instead of half and half, and no lemon. Oh, also I used kielbasa since our market didn't have andouille sausage. I know I substituted a lot of ingredients but still wanted to share to let you guys know that these substitutions worked!!! The meal was a hit and I'll definitely be making it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becky Gaut Allen
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Made this a couple of weekends ago and had friends for dinner. Everyone absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Gaut Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Made this last night. Was amazing. Used air dried sausage and skipped the bacon. Best grits I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Did not have to tweak this recipe at all, turned out FABULOUS! Will make this again!! Used another recipe as my shrimp n grits standby, it always seemed to turn out wrong. This one was spot on on the first try. I subbed in smoked Gouda instead of cheddar, but both are awesome. Would give this 6 stars if it was possible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Tried it tonight, but cut the recipe in half because there is just 2 of us. It was probably the best shrimp and grits I have ever had. Made as written except I left out the cheese. The grits were rich enough without it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msawyer3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mledbetter
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Wow... Really delicious dish. I used spicy Italian sausage instead and that gave it a nice kick. I also diced (1/3"x1/3") the bell peppers and onions and I really liked the way it came out. I thought the dish had nice color with the red, green, and yellow bell peppers. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly, and honestly could't improve on it if I had to be shot! Delicious! Mixed the leftovers and will bake in the morning with fresh cheese on top for brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This recipe turned out great!! Another reviewer stated to try the recipe as written before trying to make adjustments, and I'm so glad i did! The flavors were well balanced, nothing overpowering the other... Just great!!! You must try this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Liked the pepper, sausage, onion shrimp mix....very flavorful but not too much heat for the kids. I subbed polenta for the grits because that's what I had. Kids & hubs did not care for the polenta, so next time I make this I would sub rice if I didn't have grits. Nice change of pace....I just like more texture to chew, so rice would work better for me. Definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States