Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This is a very good recipe, but the prep is very long, including the cheese grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vee Brwn Suga Bowles
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Omg this dish is so good ?every on sould try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Have never attempted a shrimp and grits recipe until now, but always figured I'd never find a recipe as good as what you'd eat in a restaurant. As I searched for recipes I would pass on many because the list of ingredients didn't seem quite the taste I was going for. But WOWWW, this one nailed it! It was wonderful and a definite worthy of guests meal! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! It will be one of my new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I use allrecipes for dinner at least a couple of times a week for the last 10 years. This is BY FAR my favorite recipe from the site, and probably my new "favorite dinner". The grits were AMAZING, and so was the rest of the dish. I followed the recipe exactly as written. The entire house LOVED it, even my 6 year old. Thank you submitter for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Loved it. Not a real big fan of spicy (hot) but with all the flavors of this dish, I'll put up with it! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Kunze

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Made this for my son and I and let me tell you we couldn't eat enough. This dish has so much flavor going on, spicy, meaty, tangy and creamy. Oh my gosh. Bought the ingredients today to make it again. Yoo hoo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Boyd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA
Living In: Independence, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I really like this recipe mostly because I like shrimp and grits although never together before. It is an unusual combination. My family, however, is primarily used to grits with sugar and syrup as a breakfast and as a result was not sold on the unusual dinner. I will warn anyone interested in trying this recipe that it is very, very filling. Feels like eating a five course meal when you get done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Never had shrimp and grits before, so can't compare. This was a strange marriage of jambalaya and creamy polenta. I didn't think they belonged together, but separate they are delicious. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Well worth the effort! I used instant grits, followed the directions on the back of the box, and omitted the half and half as not to alter the consistency. Perfect with the cheddar cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States