Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I liked! First time cooking or eating shrimp and grits. I added oregano and some other herb to my shrimp marinade for more flavor. Regular grits would have sufficed, no need for the extra cheese and calories. Sauce would work great on some rice too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodPlease!

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Made for dinner tonight and LOVED it! I lived in Charleston for years(and if you ever get a chance to go...GO!!). This recipe is right up there with many of the great restaurants in the Lowcountry. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Scott Henson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Too much work to make on a regular basis but delicious for a treat or guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This was GOOD!! I have a friend coming over this weekend and she wants me to cook for her. I asked her what she wanted and she said shrimp and grits. I picked this recipe and cooked it a few days before to work out any issues. IT WAS AMAZING!!! I am surprised how well this turned out! Came out a little thick but I guess I add more broth to loosen it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This was a great dish! Our entire family really loved it. The one variation I used was adding chopped tomatoes, only because my husband had seen them used in a recipe for S&G he had seen on the TV. Oops, I also didn't use the bacon, because we didn't have any. Because I am more of a vegetable vs meat lover, for me, the combination of the veggies is what made it so good. When I make it again - I will use 1 teaspoon of salt in the grits - using 2 was a bit much. We will definitely make this recipe a "Keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MamaK's
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I saw another recipe for shrimp and grits on this site and it made me explore the other shrimp and grit recipes. This one is fabulous! I made a few minor adjustments for my taste and they worked out just fine. I used chicken Andouille sausage from Trader Joes,green, red and orange peppers, added fresh asparagus and canned diced tomatoes ( would have preferred fresh but didn't have any). I added a bit more cayenne because my family likes a little more heat and kept everything else the same. As far as the grits go I added garlic powder, but I also put a couple of shakes of ground red pepper to the mix. It definitely kicked it up a notch and married well with the shrimp mixture. The shrimp combo on top of the cheese grits was a taste explosion in my mouth! When my daughter and cousin came in the next day they immediately wanted to know what the wonderful smell was and both sat down and had a bowl. The flavors were even more electrifying the next day. The beauty in this is you can tweak this recipe to your liking. I chose to add more veggies. Keep in mind if you add more veggies they create more liquid. If you like a thicker gravy adjust your flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaK's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was great. I did add a little more chicken broth to get the consistence i wanted. The flavor was top knotch and i believe it is just as good if not better than some of the well known resturants here in Savannah Ga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I made this today and it was great!! My two sons enjoyed it, no leftovers. Follow the recipe exactly but I added fresh mushrooms. Will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I fixed this for dinner tonight and it was a great success. Only thing I would change is to add the shrimp at almost the very last moment so they don't get overcooked. Also, if you are like me (slow cook and not good @ multitasking while cooking) add the cheese to grits as soon as they are done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This was my first time having shrimp and grits of any kind. Although it wasn't bad, it wasn't the best recipe I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsprecious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States