Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This is an excellent dish my whole family loves. We used the medium sized shrimp (still 2lbs). We keep the grits separate from the sausage/shrimp mix until ready to serve. Also excellent reheated as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I made this yesterday. OMG it was so good!!! The flavors are perfect. This recipe is definitely a keeper and a sure way to impress guests. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Awesome ! We adjusted the recipe for 4 and now wish we had made 8 ! We could not find andouille sausage here in Florida and substituted it with Portuguese chourico sausage which from researching should come close in taste and we used frozen in the shell raw shrimp thawed and removed the shell prior to cooking the texture was great when it was cooked. Next time just a dash more cayenne pepper. This was an amazing dish we sat there looking at each other almost in disbelief that we had created this meal. Adding the half and half to the gits made them so creamy and with the cheese oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Raidt
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
We used shrimp stock instead of chicken broth and Gouda instead of Cheddar. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Excellent recipe. Big thumbs up from everyone at the supper table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darlasue
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Very good. It took a while to make, but it was well worth it. While making this I realized that I was out of grits, so I had to use rice. Still good with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Came out delicious. Have made it several times since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Oh. My. Word. I won't admit how fast the two of us went through the 8 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
The best Shrimp and grits we have ever had. The recipe is easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This is amazing! So delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States