Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Delicious! Per the other reviews, I used chicken broth instead of water for the grits. I also omitted the half and half. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelham, Georgia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Great very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Murray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
First of all this tasted amazing. Really good dish to have a couple times a year to just say the heck with eating healthy. That said...it is a bit involved so be prepared. The only thing I did different was use only 1 pound of shrimp (plenty) because they were expensive. I fed 3 adults and 2 kids on it and had some leftover. Oh, and for the grits/liquid measurement I adjusted to what I know works; 1 to 4 ratio comes out perfect every time. 1 cup grits, 4 cups liquid. Came out perfect in 15-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachguy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This dish was AMAZING! Who knew I could cook like this?! Lol. I used chipotle sausage & I omitted the bacon. I can't even imagine how much MORE amazing it would have been if I had the bacon! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This recipe was simply amazing!! I used seafood broth rather than water in the grits which gave it a good flavor. My family absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Great recipe and easy to follow. My family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ayesha Hasan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Absolutely loved this. We made a slight mistake by making the grits according to the instructions on the box (instead of the recipe)so missed the half and half. Also added a little fresh basil to the veggies as they were simmering. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly... huge hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I've tried it twice and it's so great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kashawnna Cooper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This is my go to recipe and it is absolutely amazing. My family loves it and the recipe is simple but looks and tastes out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This recipe was delicious and easy to follow. These were by far the best grits I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States