Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I thought this was really tasty, although it's a heart attack on a plate! I thought the grits were too rich and thick , I would substitute milk for at least half of the half½ and maybe add a few more tablespoons of liquid. The sauce also was too thick, I increased the chicken broth by 50%. I will probably make this again with those modifications, and also probably cut the sausage into small cubes, and or substitute Virginia ham, which is how my favorite local restaurant makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fivefthoney
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Omg this was so good. Never had grits before till I went to Hilton Head,SC and it was so good. Came across this recipe and it reminded me of it. Decided to try it myself. It was awesome. Made a few changes, did turkey sausage and left out the bacon since I don't eat pork. It still was really good. My son even ate it and he's 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I was looking for a recipe with ingredients I already have and found this one-sooo good I served it in a bowl on a bed of spinach. My husband is really picky but loved this! The cayenne kick complimented the cheesy grits. I Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Shrimp and Grits - a dish that has been nagging me for years to try it. Last week, while in Memphis, I finally tried it and fell in lust. But the dish was VERY spicy and on the greasy side and I knew I could do better. I researched Shrimp and Grits on my flight home and learned a lot, not the least of which was that it was originally a breakfast dish. I also learned there are as many ways to make it as Mama makes her meatballs, and everyone thinks theirs is the true and only way to make it. I say bah! Make what appeals to you - wine, no wine, tomatoes or not, okra, no okra, cream or no. The variations seemed endless. Make what appeals to you - and this recipe appealed to me. It ran circles around the dish I had at a popular restaurant in Memphis (clearly they do much better with barbecue!) and both Hubs and I thought this was "lick-your-plate-clean good." Because it is my preference I used polenta rather than grits, but the difference, really, is marginal. I used chicken broth in the polenta/grits rather than the water simply so as not to waste what I had left. It just contributed a richer flavor anyway! The recipe itself is perfect in my mind. I can't say enough how blown away Hubs and I both were over this. It is traditionally a humble dish, but it is also quite elegant - something I will be sure to keep in mind when I want to impress. Once again, this version of Shrimp and Grits is a real "beaut" and I would suggest following it to the letter. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This immediately became my husbands favorite dish. Being somewhat new at cooking this takes me a while to make it but worth every minute. Perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This was amazing. My husband raved about it. I used 1/4 link of jalapeño sausage instead of andouille. I used 5 minute grits(I couldn't find course ground in small town grocery). I had to add an additional half cups of grits to make thicker. I omitted the garlic, sorry can't eat much. I topped the dish with chopped green onion. Absolutely delicious. Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lithophylic
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Probably the best I have made. Just wish I had had enough room for thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Excellent will do again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I gave the recipe a four because it was time-consuming and the directions were difficult to follow. That being said, I thought I would never make it again... Until we tasted it. IT WAS WONDERFUL. I enjoyed it more than my favorite shrimp 'n grits place in Murrell's Inlet, SC. My husband thought it was perfect southern, comfort food, especially up here in Northern Illinois. It did take a lot longer for the grits to thicken than the recipe said; at least twice as long. I also used two cups of broth to make the sauce. I WILL MAKE IT AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
The recipe was absolutely delicious. I made half the recipe and adjusted ingredients accordingly. I used some orange, yellow and red pepper. My husband and I don't like green. I bought chicken andouille sausage which helped to cut the calories a little. We didn't taste the difference. I didn't pay attention to the recipe and accidentally added the chicken broth to the flour/butter mixture and made a roux. It worked beautifully because I didn't have to worry about the flour/butter burning. Don't know if I would do it the recipe way because this worked out so well. I don't think my changes were considerable; it really was a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States