Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Crazy good. Should be illegal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Best grits ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
My southern husband and I absolutely love this recipe! It's easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I do not live in grits country... the only thing at my grocery store was the instant kind, and I found that preparing them first led to gummy consistency. I recommend paying attention to the instructions on your grits package, maybe waiting until the end to prepare if using the quick grits - but otherwise this is an AWESOME recipe, the shrimp part turned out fantastic as written. Serve with some Tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Awesome.... Follow exactly as described, came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ritchie Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jelani Watkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Killer!!!! Best ever tasted. Husband is allergic to shellfish, so sub'd roast chicken for shrimp. Increased lemon juice (additional fresh squeeze over chicken). Son, who has complimented me three times in his life (he's 20) on my cooking, raved about this. LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by China McCabe
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Very yummy. We used what we had around though. Lime juice instead of lemon, leftover bacon fat, whole milk instead of half and half. This dish turned out great. I prepped EVERYTHING before I started cooking and it felt like forever. 1 hour 15 minutes is a pretty accurate time frame if you follow the recipe exactly. The next time I will make the rue and the grits at the same time and set aside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by China McCabe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This receipe is amazing with a few tweaks. If you add 2 teaspoons of salt to the grits it will be too salty. I added 1/2 tsp kosher salt and it was perfect. I also only add 1 cup of half and half and the consistency was perfect. I did cook the grits in 1 cup of water and 2 cups of low sodium chicken broth and boy oh boy was it great. The best grits I have ever tasted. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This is the best shrimp and grits recipe ever! Whenever we go out to eat, my husband always orders the shrimp and grits and every time he says, "Not as good as yours." Thank you for this recipe"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States