Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is the most delicious recipe for shrimp and grits I've ever tasted! I am a southerner by birth and wanted to introduce shrimp and grits to my Boston friends so I made this dish for them and there was not a speck of it left on their plates. None of them had eaten grits before and I saw the hesitancy in their eyes before tasting it but to my delight they were completely transformed. I just hope they don't expect every shrimp and grits recipe to be as good as this one. Many thanks to the creator of this gem of a dish! It is now in my "favorites" category in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I was missing a few ingredients including bacon, but this was still delicious. I have tried many similar recipes, and this one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mccormick, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This recipe was soooooo delicious! In fact, I made it less than a week ago and I am going to try it again this morning for a friend. The first time that I made it I ended up with leftovers and each time that I warmed it up, it was better than the first! I didn't stick exactly to the ingredients. I didn't use the andouille sausage because my store didn't have any and I used the Velveeta soft block cheese instead of the shredded cheese. The grits were perfectly cheesy and creamy. YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly! I live in Charleston and this is better than any restaurant in town!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Yes! Better than any Shrimp & Grits we have ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
My husband made this for Christmas dinner this year & it was to DIE FOR! His mom & dad & sister were in & really loved it!! He finished the meal with the Beignet recipe from this website & we are in heavan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momto3girls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Mindblowingly Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I've had shrimp and grits in many of different ways. In Charleston many years ago I had a fantastic shrimp and grits dish. Last night I made this one and it was as good if not better than the one I had in Charleston. My wife and I loved it and will save this recipe and make it again and again. It was great. Nothing more I can say about it. You must try this one if you have every you loved shrimp and grits. Have to use the coarsely ground grits, it's a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This turned out amazing. Just the savory comfort dish i was searching for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I LOVE IT!! Everyone try this recipe! Im 20 and fairly new to cooking. The recipe was easy to follow and tasted sooo good! I am making this every couple of weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States