Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Srawls33
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Absolutely loved it, from preparation to plate! Not too hard to make either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
It was my first time ever having shrimp and grits so not much to compare it to, but it was FABULOUS! Being from Louisiana I already know how to cook so I added my own flare to it and spiced it up more. The only downside is the amount of prep/cooking time. It seemed like an eternity. Out of a scale of 1-10, my husband gave it an 11.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Pound

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I followed the directions exactly& this dish came out fabulous!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
I think this is my new favorite recipe from this site! It was delicious! I only made one change to the recipe. I now live in Montana and couldn't find coarse ground grits anywhere. So instead, I used quick 5 minute grits. Because of this I had to add another 1/2 c. of the quick grits to get it to the right consistency. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Watts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
OMG!!! This is fantastic & deserves more stars. Didn't change a thing in regards to the main dish, but did use quick grits instead because that is what I had. I hate to use shrimp, which is costly here, for something like this instead of straight on the grill, but I'll "sacrifice" because this is sooooo good. I do think the half & half & cheddar cheese make the grits so smooth & creamy. The rest of this dish is pure flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
This recipe is fabulous! I made it for the first time tonight for company. I took a chance, and made it exactly as written because of all the rave reviews. We weren't disappointed. I can't wait to make it again! Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
We just got back from Sputh Carolina and I had shrimp and grits from Plums in Beaufort. I was craving it, so decided to give this recipe a try. This was delicious! I was a little stressed while making this because I was making it for the first time for my mother-in-law. In my stress, I totally skipped seasoning the shrimp! It was still delicious! I did make sure that I bought the good grits, not instant. Except for the shrimp, I followed the recipe to the letter! Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
So good you could make for guests without practicing. I had to use two pots-mine weren't big enough for the full recipe. Takes more than 1 hour 15. You could do steps 1,3,4,5,and 9 the morning or day before. I would only cook the shrimp and roux at the last minute. De-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
This is the second time I made this recipe....its Perfection. The first time I followed the recipe exactly, but left out the andouille sausage (not a fan of the heat in andouille), and it was devine. This time I followed it exactly again but used a New Orleans flavor Johnsonville sausage (mild heat but nice smoke)....OMG....talk about the perfect comfort food. The grits are perfectly creamy and cheesy....and the shrimp mixture is just perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MargCanCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
A very good recipe. Everyone enjoyed this flavorful dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States