Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Made this last night. Was amazing. Used air dried sausage and skipped the bacon. Best grits I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Did not have to tweak this recipe at all, turned out FABULOUS! Will make this again!! Used another recipe as my shrimp n grits standby, it always seemed to turn out wrong. This one was spot on on the first try. I subbed in smoked Gouda instead of cheddar, but both are awesome. Would give this 6 stars if it was possible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Tried it tonight, but cut the recipe in half because there is just 2 of us. It was probably the best shrimp and grits I have ever had. Made as written except I left out the cheese. The grits were rich enough without it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msawyer3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mledbetter
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Wow... Really delicious dish. I used spicy Italian sausage instead and that gave it a nice kick. I also diced (1/3"x1/3") the bell peppers and onions and I really liked the way it came out. I thought the dish had nice color with the red, green, and yellow bell peppers. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly, and honestly could't improve on it if I had to be shot! Delicious! Mixed the leftovers and will bake in the morning with fresh cheese on top for brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This recipe turned out great!! Another reviewer stated to try the recipe as written before trying to make adjustments, and I'm so glad i did! The flavors were well balanced, nothing overpowering the other... Just great!!! You must try this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Liked the pepper, sausage, onion shrimp mix....very flavorful but not too much heat for the kids. I subbed polenta for the grits because that's what I had. Kids & hubs did not care for the polenta, so next time I make this I would sub rice if I didn't have grits. Nice change of pace....I just like more texture to chew, so rice would work better for me. Definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Absolutely amazing! Restaurant quality! My bf has been bugging me about making him shrimp and grits but I've kinda of been putting it off because I have no idea how to make shrimp and grits. I don't even eat shrimp!!! So how was I supposed to pull this off? Well this recipe was my secret weapon! OMG! This was AMAZING!!! He lite up like a Christmas tree! I made fire roasted corn (roasting in the oven for 8 mins with butter and cayenne pepper) and put that around the outside of the grits which was not only a nice decorative additive but delicious with the grits. I also made a side of sweet corn bread. I am now the QUEEN in my house because of this. I can't believe it came out this great on my first try. I will definitely cook this again for more people to impress them. :) Only thing I will do next time is prep everything first to cut down on time. This time I was reading the recipe and doing everything at the same time but it still came out FANTASTIC! Okay gotta go...its time for a second helping! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Made it EXACTLY as the recipe said and it was DELICIOUS!! Must definitely make again and turned a grit hater into a grit lover!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States