Old Bay® Steamed Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is the only way to steam shrimp. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Used this recipe twice- you can't go wrong- simple, easy and error proof- 5 minutes- set it and forget it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Been making this one for years!! Simple, easy and absolutely delicious. Use extra Old Bay and maybe some drawn butter for those that like to dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scollier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I replaced the vinegar with additional water and added 2-3 Tbsp of pickling spice to this recipe and it added a touch of sweetness to the spice of the Old Bay seasoning. LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
use this recipe all the time except replace 1/2 cup water with 1-12oz. beer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Langley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This was great. And very easy to make. Even if you don't know how to cook you can make this dish. All you have to know is how to read. Now if you can't cook or read, then you're screwed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was great!!!!! it reminded me of Joes Crab Shack Steam Pot shrimp.. I added 3/4 butter and 2 sprinkles garlic poweder. I also use about 5 1/2 teaspoons of Old Bay Seasoning.....mmm good I will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is pretty much the same recipe printed on the tin, so no points for originality, but that extra teaspoon of Old Bay does make a difference. I wouldn't dream of reducing the vinegar in this dish. It balances the richness of the shrimp... though I'd say that one pound of boiled shrimp would serve 2, not 4, if you're buying your shrimp in the shell. Also, since shrimp comes in a variety of sizes, it's impossible to give anything more than general cooking guidelines. I buy my shrimp frozen. Unless you buy shrimp fresh off local boats, you'll be buying your shrimp at a grocer, and the shrimp will have been flash-frozen on the fishing boat itself. Buying frozen shrimp actually gives you a fresher product than buying shrimp that has been "previously frozen." It makes a difference. When I cook this, I buy 31-40 count, frozen and cleaned but unpeeled shrimp, meaning that there are 31-40 decapitated shrimp per pound. I do not thaw or peel the shrimp before cooking, but place the still-frozen shrimp in the pan with the rest of the ingredients plus 1 teaspoon of salt (unpeeled shrimp only), cover it, and bring it to a boil. I immediately take the pan off the heat and let let the covered pan stand on the countertop for about 10 minutes, like I was making hard-boiled eggs, and then drain it. This produces tender, flavorful shrimp which we peel and eat. If you're using frozen peeled shrimp, you would need to eliminate the salt and reduce the standing time by about 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Follow basic recipe with a few modifications: Use a 1/2 cup of white balsamic vinegar and also add a 1/2 cup of beer(or more to cover shrimp) and the juice of two lemons and two limes to the recipe (double the amt. of Old Bay spice and and also add a stick of butter) add shrimp. Also have used the same recipe to cook lobster tails - serve either the cooked shrimp or lobster along with melted butter dusted with good garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Way too much vinegar! 1 Tbspn would serve. Its purpose is to kill the cooking odor. To sweeten and have no odor, use a can of beer instead of water for cooking the shrimp. Or mix beer with water if needed to cover shrimp. If the shrimp are mediums, 2 1/2 min. is enough cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States