Old Bay® Shrimp Fest Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Bridges Coffey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Well I did everything recipe said except adjusting the cook times. I did not find this recipe very flavorful....it was spicy but lack of flavor if that makes any sence. although I have tried to make other dishes with old bay seasoning and felt the same way about those...so maybe I just dont like old bay. Maybe adding chicken stock, or a seafood stock instead of water would make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I halved recipe and used heaping quarter cup old bay and only little over 1 tsp garlic salt. It was way too much salt. Kept water the same but full can of beer. Added a quartered lemon, Left out onion. Used defrosted niblets. I added corn and sausage at same time and cooked 7 min--I think that was too much cook time for those. Will make again with few modifications
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
What a hit! The flavor was incredible and everyone kept saying that we MUST do another shrimp boil sometime. I did tweak a bit by adding some cayenne pepper to the boil water. (I'm from the south and boiled shrimp should have some KICK!). I also put the corn and sausage in at the same time since the sausage was already fully cooked. Otherwise, I just did everything as the recipe instructs and it came out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is pretty much the recipe I have been using for years. I add lemon slices & whole cloves of garlic. So much fun to "dump" the ingredients onto a plastic table cloth when someone is new to the experience. I have found it handy to have damp wash cloths in stead of napkins for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was excellent and the only reason for the 4 instead of 5 star is because I feel the cook time on everything except the shrimp is way too long. 24 minutes on the potatoes just turns them to mush and why would you cook sausage that is already cooked before you add it to the pot for 16 minutes? Cut all of the cooking time down except the 4 minutes on the shrimp and you will have a marvelous feast and a memorable one at that. On a side note, the shrimp and corn take on the spiciness the most and the sausage grabs a hold of the beer flavor the most which results in YUM-O. Thanks Old Bay! I forgot to add that I halved the recipe since just the two of us and I used the whole can of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Fantastic!!!! I halved this for my husband and I and it still made a lot of food. Since people have said this lacks flavor, I used almost a half cup Old Bay and it had tons of flavor. I did leave out the beer. I also peeled the shrimp. I will definitely be making this again. Next time I may add some crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
i have made this twice last summer and am planning on making it this weekend. it is a crowd pleaser. i have been giving out the recipe over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Great recipe! Easy and delicious. I added 3/4 cup old bay, 3qt water and 2 beers as others suggested...very flavorful! I also took the shells off of the shrimp so that we could devein them. Sorry, I wont eat shrimp that is not deveined. yuck! We made it outside in a turkey fryer. But seriously, this serves way more than 8 people!!! Serves more like 14 and we have big eaters! I would make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Super easy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States