Old Bay® Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I substituted Halibut from the night before instead of crab meat, positively the best "crab" cakes we've ever had!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
very bland and tasteless never again will make these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This is a very good start, but needed some additional spices to avoid blandness: i added 1/4 tsp dry mustard, 1 tsp dijon, 1/8 tsp fresh ground pepper, and a tablspoon of finely minced green onion. I also replaced the 2 slices of dried bread with ~1.25 cup of fine dried bread crumbs, which makes a nice consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
We served this on our special Mother's Day buffet and it was a huge succes! Lot's of compliments. Enough of a zing to get your attention but not overwhelming. Was complimented well with a sweet hot slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
Very easy and very flavorful! I know I will be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Wow! No one does it better than Old Bay! I've been trusting their spice as my "secret ingredient" for many years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
These crab cakes were really good my family raved over them the only thing was I did'nt make enough next time I'll have to double the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Elizabeth City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Best crab cakes with a couple of revisions. I used pumpernikel bread, and added a small amount of bread crumbs. Instead of Old Bay seasoning (which I couldn't find), I used the salt free Tony Sacheres (sp?) and fresh parsley instead of dried. I also used an extra egg. The crab cake sauce from this site went with these so well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
Did not hold together well and lacked something. Maybe more Oldbay would give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
My husband and I loved these! Who better to know Crab Cakes than Old Bay!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States