Oktoberfest Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
German style food is not something I grew up eating and even now I wouldn't say it's something that either Hubs or I have a well-developed palate for. We have been experimenting with it more in recent years and have learned we really enjoy it, particularly when we're talking about recipes like this one. Holy moly, what a salad! No ordinary potato salad this! It does require a little extra effort than most, but it's so worth it. Just right tangy and sweet, with accents of parsley and celery that lend freshness, crunch and flavor. Given I made such a small portion for just the two of us, I was tempted to just toss everything together rather than try and layer it as directed in the recipe. I'm so glad I made it as the submitter intended as I'm sure that was partly why this salad was so beautiful, certainly a sophisticated cut above most potato salads, German potato salads included. If I have one criticism it's that I didn't trust my instincts and use either a Yukon Gold or red potato. I guess I assumed that if that wasn't specified then an ordinary russet was what was intended. Just as I suspected, with the russet I used the slices tended to fall apart. Still, the combination of flavors and ingredients in this salad far and away made up for any disappointment I had with the potato itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Janet Shum
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
This was very good and one that was different for us. We really enjoyed the sweet and tangy notes of this salad. This would be a great addition to anyone's BBQ, as there is no mayo! Recipe group selection for 5/10/2015. Thanks for sharing lutzflcat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I made this today for easter tomorrow. I used fresh scallions and backyard wild onion greens. I also used baby Yukon golds and baby red potatos. I doubled the recipe, after hearing from both daughters that they WERE coming. I'm waiting on this to cool off before I put it away for tomorrow...ok, actually I can't keep a fork out of it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I just prepared this recipe and am enjoying a sample right now! I used a package of real (not soy) bacon bits for the bacon and with no drippings available, I added a couple tablespoons of cooking oil to brown the onion, etc. helped to emulsify the dressing. I didn't bother to stack the layers, just mixed good and let it all mellow together before dinner.Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ing
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Was looking for a recipe with ingredients I had at hand, so glad I found this. My 13 year old has 2nds. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Recipe Group Selection: 09, May 2015 ~ I cut the recipe in half, but wish I would have kept the dressing amounts at the full portion. The flavor is very good and I like that I usually always have the ingredients on hand. I served this with 'Chicken Verde Sandwiches' from AR. Thank you lutzflcat, for sharing your recipe with all of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
very traditionally perfect...even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Fantastic! The dressing had me licking the bowl! I made the dressing and potatoes the night before, then assembled before making the rest of supper--this went very well with brats and sauerkraut. Thanks for sharing your recipe, lutzflcat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
I have never been a fan of German potato salad,but I only tried it once at the Octoberfest when I was young and didn't like foods that were unusual to me. More adventurous nowadays I thought I would give it a try. I liked this recipe and will make it again, my husband ( born in Germany) said it was just how he remembered. I did have to make some substitutions, cider vinegar instead of white,like other reviewers,Dijon mustard because I didn't have dry mustard,light brown sugar instead of white, I also used small baby russets. I layered it in a sealable casserole and flipped it over once in awhile ,when letting it stand for a few hours in the fridge ,to let the dressing evenly soak through. Served it hot, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikeal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
I was looking for a good, non-mayo potato salad to take to a dept. potluck & decided to look for a German potato salad. I can't tell if this is authentic or not. And I don't care to be honest. :) I'm a German, Norwegian, Czech mix & just love good food. :) I thought I was going to have some to take home after the potluck as my family ate some the night before & liked it. There was none left! Everyone who I saw take some said it was really good. I served this at room temp as recommended by other recipes.Because of an allergy, the only change I made was to use some Heshiko green onions instead of the white onion. When I was making the dressing I was worried that the vinegar would be too strong. You could REALLY smell the vinegar when I was cooking. I doubled the recipe since it was to be for 12 people. I doubled the dressing & I would actually only do 1.5 times in the future if I double it again. There ended up being too much dressing. I also split this between 2 bowls because I knew the dressing would sink to the bottom. After letting it sit to soak up the dressing, I then mixed the 2 together. I didn't worry if it kept the layered look since I was not trying to win a contest or anything. (In case anyone would like to know, I used red potatoes. I use them whenever possible as I prefer them to russet.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States