Oktoberfest Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I just prepared this recipe and am enjoying a sample right now! I used a package of real (not soy) bacon bits for the bacon and with no drippings available, I added a couple tablespoons of cooking oil to brown the onion, etc. helped to emulsify the dressing. I didn't bother to stack the layers, just mixed good and let it all mellow together before dinner.Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
very traditionally perfect...even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ing
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Was looking for a recipe with ingredients I had at hand, so glad I found this. My 13 year old has 2nds. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
German style food is not something I grew up eating and even now I wouldn't say it's something that either Hubs or I have a well-developed palate for. We have been experimenting with it more in recent years and have learned we really enjoy it, particularly when we're talking about recipes like this one. Holy moly, what a salad! No ordinary potato salad this! It does require a little extra effort than most, but it's so worth it. Just right tangy and sweet, with accents of parsley and celery that lend freshness, crunch and flavor. Given I made such a small portion for just the two of us, I was tempted to just toss everything together rather than try and layer it as directed in the recipe. I'm so glad I made it as the submitter intended as I'm sure that was partly why this salad was so beautiful, certainly a sophisticated cut above most potato salads, German potato salads included. If I have one criticism it's that I didn't trust my instincts and use either a Yukon Gold or red potato. I guess I assumed that if that wasn't specified then an ordinary russet was what was intended. Just as I suspected, with the russet I used the slices tended to fall apart. Still, the combination of flavors and ingredients in this salad far and away made up for any disappointment I had with the potato itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I made this today for easter tomorrow. I used fresh scallions and backyard wild onion greens. I also used baby Yukon golds and baby red potatos. I doubled the recipe, after hearing from both daughters that they WERE coming. I'm waiting on this to cool off before I put it away for tomorrow...ok, actually I can't keep a fork out of it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by Janet Shum
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
This was very good and one that was different for us. We really enjoyed the sweet and tangy notes of this salad. This would be a great addition to anyone's BBQ, as there is no mayo! Recipe group selection for 5/10/2015. Thanks for sharing lutzflcat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Recipe Group Selection: 09, May 2015 ~ I cut the recipe in half, but wish I would have kept the dressing amounts at the full portion. The flavor is very good and I like that I usually always have the ingredients on hand. I served this with 'Chicken Verde Sandwiches' from AR. Thank you lutzflcat, for sharing your recipe with all of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Made for Recipe Group. Brings back memories for me from my time spent in Germany. I didn't have any celery and used celery seed instead. I liked it warm and cold. Hubby tried it and said it was pretty good(he ate it cold and hates warm German potato salad)which is saying a lot for him! Thanks Lutzflcat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States