Oktoberfest Chicken and Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janejschmidgall

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mackinaw, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
OMG. my family loved this.I doubled the recipe and did not put in the cinnamin.. My family is hard to please, and all of them loved it, and my husband had two plates..You have to try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by macprep
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
My family absolutely loved this. We had to keep them from piling their plates full! I used diced turkey breast (what I had leftover), dredged it with the flour mixture and fried briefly till a crispy texture. Also threw in some thinly sliced carrots and used cooking sherry, balsamic vinegar and Merlot because that's what I had. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I really liked this. I did change it a little. I used one yellow onion and one red onion and caramelized them to add to the sweetness. After they were caramelized then I added the apples. Then I substituted honey for the brown sugar, white wine instead of red , 1/4 cup of white vinegar instead of 1/2 cup of wine vinegar, turkey bacon instead of bacon, two apples instead of one, and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon instead of 1/2 teaspoon. The chicken I used was a whole cut up chicken. I did actually cook the cabbage separately from the chicken and then combined them when finished...that was just because my pan wasn't big enough. It was really really good. My husband and I liked it even more the second day. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Just made the red cabbage and it was hearty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
My wife and I followed the recipe almost exactly, but made just a couple minor changes. We had a sweeter, spiced red wine open already, so we used that, and then cut back on the brown sugar a little. We also didn't do the cinnamon (the spiced wine actually had some cinnamon in it). Everything else we did just as written here, and it turned out fantastic. We would make this again in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I was a bit skeptical but I really enjoyed this recipe. It was a tiny bit on the sweet side so I might reduce the brown sugar in the future but it was fine as is and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springtown, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I love this recipe for it's simplicity. It's so easy to throw together (in one pot no less) and my guests enjoyed it with their beer. I threw in some caraway seeds to go with the German theme. Thanks Herbanspoons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States