Okra with Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
I've made many variations of this side dish, but this one stands out with the cayenne pepper. Being a fan of it, I was extra generous with the amount I used. Very tasty and it had the perfect kick. Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I use fresh okra and add a pinch of sugar to bring out the natural sweetness in the ingredients. I serve with Tobasco and my husband loves it! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This is a great dinner when paired with rice. Our 1 year old daughter loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice2883
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
My aunt used to make this all the time and i loved it even though i couldnt stand okra! I decided to make it on my own and it turned out great! I only used diced tomatos and left out the stewed but it was all the same. I also put this over some yellow rice (although the rice was the wrong kind) it turned out really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice2883

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I used a full 15 oz can of diced tomatoes by accident, but I ended up loving all the chunks of tomato! I fed this to my husband and mom and they LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
GREAT RECIPE...YUMMY,YUMMY,YUMMY..MADE A BIG DIFFERENCE WITH THE CORN..MY HUSBAND LOVED IT,WILL DEFINATELY MAKE IT AGAIN AND AGAIN....LOVE OKRA..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Very good! I would use 1/2 the cayenne pepper next time - a little too hot for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Five stars because someone else told me it is. I used half the cayenne, which I think is probably enough for most people, but it won't be hot. Used only a 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes but threw in some romas from last summers garden to chunk it up. Skipped the green pepper and didn't miss it. This recipe goes well with fish like haddock or tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Didn't think this sounded tasty but I LOVED it! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I love summertime for all the wonderful okra and tomatoes! This is a wonderful recipe and yes, fresh corn is really good in it! I've also made a "drier" version of this with chopped, seeded fresh tomatoes and put it in an omelet! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States