Okra with Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
My mother use to make this with her fresh okra and tomatoes. I have made it, too. It is so good with fresh peas and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I would add corn to this. It would taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Methinks it needs some corn; fresh cut off the cob or frozen. Being of "southern' heritage......some bacon fat is also a needful addition! Bon appetit ya'll! If the 'sliminess' of the okra bothers you, add a tad of vinegar and it firms-up the okra nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was really good. I goobered and was going to make something different when I pulled out my okra, But I had them in the steamer and didn't have the ingriedents I needed for the other recipe..so when searching for an okra and tomato recipe and found this. And I also didn't have bell peppers...go figure. But with not having the bell peppers it didn't stop the recipe. I only added 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper because my kids were eating it, but all in all simple yet delish recipe. Yummy. I had only one child that didn't eat this, but I expected that. But everyone else enjoyed it. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Great recipe! My family doesn't like too much heat so I replaced the cayenne with tumeric. Also left out the green peppers, which I don't think we missed at all. I didn't have any stewed tomatoes on hand so I used a larger can of diced tomatoes and agree with others that the chunkiness was nice. Also used fresh okra rather than frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodiS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was good. I've made it twice now. The first time around, I loved it. I was tired of my failed attempts at fried okra and wanted to try something new, and this worked out well. My second time around, I made it way too spicy (even with red pepper flakes subbed for the cayenne, since I have kids). The seasoning came out well the first time around, but the second time it was too bland and one-dimensional, aside from the spiciness, I think because of all the canned tomatoes (and I used unseasoned, no salt added ones). Both times I thought it needed some celery to give it some extra flavor, so I will add that in next time. I also think maybe I will ditch the pepper flakes altogether and add in some homemade creole seasoning. It needs more flavor, but definitely not any more heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
this was fantastic! i put half as much cayenne pepper in b/c my tastebuds can't handle too much spice. i made a lot of it and kept in in the refridgerator over the course of a week and it seemed to taste better every time. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This is SOOOO good! I've made this twice; once straight from the recipe and once with modifications when I was out of some things: halve the cayenne and use salsa instead of stewed tomatoes. I really preferred it with the salsa and will make it that way from now on. You can make a ton of mods to this and it still turns out great. Thanks for the awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Bishop Hamm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I made this with fresh okra instead of frozen, but otherwise followed the recipe at least to the end. When made, I thought the recipe would have been better with about half of the amount of cayenne pepper, as I thought it overwhelmed the balance of flavors. Normally, the stewed tomatoes will add the sweetness, but in this case (because of the cayenne) it needed some sugar. I added almost a TB before thinking it was back in balance. I'll make it again, but will not add all the pepper called for. BTW: One of the reasons I tried this dish was because of the cayenne. I love hot peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Didn't think this sounded tasty but I LOVED it! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States