Okra with Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I made this with fresh okra (sliced then soaked in milk for 15 mins to get rid of the sliminess) and canned diced tomatoes and fresh. This was a nice fresh-tasting side dish. I think some corn would work well with it too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I use fresh okra and add a pinch of sugar to bring out the natural sweetness in the ingredients. I serve with Tobasco and my husband loves it! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
I've made many variations of this side dish, but this one stands out with the cayenne pepper. Being a fan of it, I was extra generous with the amount I used. Very tasty and it had the perfect kick. Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by Candice2883
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
My aunt used to make this all the time and i loved it even though i couldnt stand okra! I decided to make it on my own and it turned out great! I only used diced tomatos and left out the stewed but it was all the same. I also put this over some yellow rice (although the rice was the wrong kind) it turned out really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice2883

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was really good. I goobered and was going to make something different when I pulled out my okra, But I had them in the steamer and didn't have the ingriedents I needed for the other recipe..so when searching for an okra and tomato recipe and found this. And I also didn't have bell peppers...go figure. But with not having the bell peppers it didn't stop the recipe. I only added 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper because my kids were eating it, but all in all simple yet delish recipe. Yummy. I had only one child that didn't eat this, but I expected that. But everyone else enjoyed it. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I made this with fresh okra instead of frozen, but otherwise followed the recipe at least to the end. When made, I thought the recipe would have been better with about half of the amount of cayenne pepper, as I thought it overwhelmed the balance of flavors. Normally, the stewed tomatoes will add the sweetness, but in this case (because of the cayenne) it needed some sugar. I added almost a TB before thinking it was back in balance. I'll make it again, but will not add all the pepper called for. BTW: One of the reasons I tried this dish was because of the cayenne. I love hot peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Five stars because someone else told me it is. I used half the cayenne, which I think is probably enough for most people, but it won't be hot. Used only a 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes but threw in some romas from last summers garden to chunk it up. Skipped the green pepper and didn't miss it. This recipe goes well with fish like haddock or tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Very good! I would use 1/2 the cayenne pepper next time - a little too hot for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Great recipe! My family doesn't like too much heat so I replaced the cayenne with tumeric. Also left out the green peppers, which I don't think we missed at all. I didn't have any stewed tomatoes on hand so I used a larger can of diced tomatoes and agree with others that the chunkiness was nice. Also used fresh okra rather than frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodiS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Didn't think this sounded tasty but I LOVED it! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States