Okra with Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Methinks it needs some corn; fresh cut off the cob or frozen. Being of "southern' heritage......some bacon fat is also a needful addition! Bon appetit ya'll! If the 'sliminess' of the okra bothers you, add a tad of vinegar and it firms-up the okra nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was really good. I goobered and was going to make something different when I pulled out my okra, But I had them in the steamer and didn't have the ingriedents I needed for the other recipe..so when searching for an okra and tomato recipe and found this. And I also didn't have bell peppers...go figure. But with not having the bell peppers it didn't stop the recipe. I only added 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper because my kids were eating it, but all in all simple yet delish recipe. Yummy. I had only one child that didn't eat this, but I expected that. But everyone else enjoyed it. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Great recipe! My family doesn't like too much heat so I replaced the cayenne with tumeric. Also left out the green peppers, which I don't think we missed at all. I didn't have any stewed tomatoes on hand so I used a larger can of diced tomatoes and agree with others that the chunkiness was nice. Also used fresh okra rather than frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodiS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was good. I've made it twice now. The first time around, I loved it. I was tired of my failed attempts at fried okra and wanted to try something new, and this worked out well. My second time around, I made it way too spicy (even with red pepper flakes subbed for the cayenne, since I have kids). The seasoning came out well the first time around, but the second time it was too bland and one-dimensional, aside from the spiciness, I think because of all the canned tomatoes (and I used unseasoned, no salt added ones). Both times I thought it needed some celery to give it some extra flavor, so I will add that in next time. I also think maybe I will ditch the pepper flakes altogether and add in some homemade creole seasoning. It needs more flavor, but definitely not any more heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
this was fantastic! i put half as much cayenne pepper in b/c my tastebuds can't handle too much spice. i made a lot of it and kept in in the refridgerator over the course of a week and it seemed to taste better every time. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This is SOOOO good! I've made this twice; once straight from the recipe and once with modifications when I was out of some things: halve the cayenne and use salsa instead of stewed tomatoes. I really preferred it with the salsa and will make it that way from now on. You can make a ton of mods to this and it still turns out great. Thanks for the awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I made this with fresh okra instead of frozen, but otherwise followed the recipe at least to the end. When made, I thought the recipe would have been better with about half of the amount of cayenne pepper, as I thought it overwhelmed the balance of flavors. Normally, the stewed tomatoes will add the sweetness, but in this case (because of the cayenne) it needed some sugar. I added almost a TB before thinking it was back in balance. I'll make it again, but will not add all the pepper called for. BTW: One of the reasons I tried this dish was because of the cayenne. I love hot peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Didn't think this sounded tasty but I LOVED it! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I used a full 15 oz can of diced tomatoes by accident, but I ended up loving all the chunks of tomato! I fed this to my husband and mom and they LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Five stars because someone else told me it is. I used half the cayenne, which I think is probably enough for most people, but it won't be hot. Used only a 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes but threw in some romas from last summers garden to chunk it up. Skipped the green pepper and didn't miss it. This recipe goes well with fish like haddock or tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States