Okra with Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Made this recipe tonight. I like it because it used frozen okra and that is usually what I have on hand. I didn't have any cayenne pepper....I used about 1/2 teaspoon of paprika and also crushed red pepper to taste. I had home canned tomatoes...so I used a I quart jar of those and four fresh chopped small tomatoes. I didn't need sugar cause these tomatoes are sweet. I added 1 finely chopped jalapeno. I used 1 1/2 small onion and 4 big cloves of garlic. I added extra bottled hot sauce on top when I ate it and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Good recipe. I took advice of others and cut the cayenne in half and it still had plenty of heat. I added a little extra garlic after tasting it halfway through cooking and it added a little more flavor. I couldn't get an 8oz can of diced tomatoes, so I used a 14.5oz size. The few extra tomatoes can't hurt! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyCan'tCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I added Chipotle Beef Sausage, Fiesta Corn, and mexican style Rotel with Lime and Cilantro. What a winner! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shonne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This is a great recipe! A litttle spicy but very good. I love making a huge pot and then freezing in individual containers to use at a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
My boyfriend and I absolutely love this recipe. I make it exactly as written except that I add a can of tomatoes with jalapenos instead of plain diced tomotoes. It is wonderful and tastes even better the next day, after the flavors have developed and blended more. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
GREAT RECIPE...YUMMY,YUMMY,YUMMY..MADE A BIG DIFFERENCE WITH THE CORN..MY HUSBAND LOVED IT,WILL DEFINATELY MAKE IT AGAIN AND AGAIN....LOVE OKRA..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I love summertime for all the wonderful okra and tomatoes! This is a wonderful recipe and yes, fresh corn is really good in it! I've also made a "drier" version of this with chopped, seeded fresh tomatoes and put it in an omelet! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
My mother use to make this with her fresh okra and tomatoes. I have made it, too. It is so good with fresh peas and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I would add corn to this. It would taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Methinks it needs some corn; fresh cut off the cob or frozen. Being of "southern' heritage......some bacon fat is also a needful addition! Bon appetit ya'll! If the 'sliminess' of the okra bothers you, add a tad of vinegar and it firms-up the okra nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States