Okra and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
Great recipe. I used Zataran's Creole spice to give it some zing. I also omitted the celery since we didn't have any. I liked as well as my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
My husband and I both really liked this recipe, easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
I've made this a couple of times now. The first time I followed the recipe and it turned out great. The second time, I found I didn't have any canned tomatos, but I had a few roma's , so I diced those up and added a little tomato sauce. It still turned out perfect. Every one at my house loves it either way. I sometimes add a little Creole seasoning for a little extra kick. This is one of those recipes that's just real hard to goof up. Thanks for posting a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
Simple, easy, delicious. Used fresh tomatoes with a little chicken stock instead of can tomatoes. Served over bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
This came out so unbelievably good! We used fresh tomatoes and fresh okra and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAJUNSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Very good. Got rave reviews when served with Ann's Shrimp Etoufee: "I've had okra prepared a few ways and this is the best I've had."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I made this to use up some fresh okra. Because I was literally making one serving, I didn't want to open an entire can of tomatoes so I just used some V8 veggie juice and some Pace chunky salsa. I didn't have the green pepper so I used a finely chopped jalepeno instead. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
I made this without the bacon and it was really simple to prepare. I used fresh chopped tomatoes and red pepper flakes. It kind of reminded me of ratatouille.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
it was very easy to make and delicious. instead of the okra type mentioned above, i used canned okra in tomato sauce, and the recipe was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
I thought this was very good - I had to add several seasonings to make it just right, or I would have given it 5 stars. I added fresh parsely, garlic, pepper, seasoned salt and a pinch of chili powder. However, I will definitely be making this again. I served it over brown rice with a fried egg, and it was delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States