Okra and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
my husband like okra only if it's fried. that when i made this, he thinks it would be slimy. but i made him try it and he love it now. love it! i used fresh tomatoes all the time but if i don't, i always drained the tomatoes in can to avoid it from getting slimy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
i made this for me and my fiance, and by looking at the picture he said he would try it, but it looked not so good lol. and i made it and guess what? i got 1 bowl and he stole the rest! it was tasty AND healthy, i will keep this in with my favorite recipes thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This is good but it needs more tomatoes and more flavor. I used some worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I fixed this dish this evening with a few modifications and everyone but the babies cleaned his plate. I used fresh okra, doubled the tomato, added some leftover polish sausage and a bit of crushed pepper. We served it over flavored white rice and ate every last bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
It's a good way to eat okra, we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
Very easy, quick, and tasty! :) I was a little skeptical at first, but this turned out to be a great recipe for okra. I don't like celery so I omitted the celery and used 1 bell pepper instead. Also, I added some garlic powder, paprika, and a small amount of cayenne pepper. I used canola oil for sauteeing instead of bacon grease (I omitted the bacon altogether to make it more healthy). The result was very yummy! And we didn't have a problem with the "slime" normally associated with okra -- maybe sauteeing the okra took care of this. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Super!!! A+++ If I could give it more stars, I would. I didn't realize okra could taste this good w/out being deep fried. I added green chilies because we like food a little more spicy. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Very good! I used olive oil instead of bacon and spiced it up with Creole Seasoning. My family likes it spicy! It was wonderful! I would definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Delicious, healthy, and filling! I made a few modifications: used a full green pepper; omitted the celery; for the can of tomatoes I used "Hunt's Diced Tomatoes with Green Pepper, Celery and Onion". I mixed up my own Cajun-type seasoning: 1 Tbsp all-purpose flour, 1 tsp season-all, 3/4 tsp garlic salt, 1/2 tsp paprika, 1/4 tsp pepper, and 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper. I stirred this into the mixture in place of the "salt and pepper to taste". This was wonderfully hearty and I will make it again. Thanks, Gwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
I thought this was very good - I had to add several seasonings to make it just right, or I would have given it 5 stars. I added fresh parsely, garlic, pepper, seasoned salt and a pinch of chili powder. However, I will definitely be making this again. I served it over brown rice with a fried egg, and it was delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States