Okra and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This was an amazing dish! Served with dirty rice and jalapeno corn bread, It was a delightful southern meal! Will make often! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BACON BITS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Very good ..Scrubby says it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I thought this was a really great okra dish. I did add about a tablespoon of butter, though (my bacon didn't produce a whole lot of grease). I also used a whole green pepper and NO celery. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I used fresh okra and whole tomatoes in sauce because that's all I had. I added some creole seasoning as someone suggested and didn't use bacon. It was great!! Can't wait to get more okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This is one of my favorite recipes. I make this dish often in the summer when we have okra from the garden and I use frozen okra in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Absolutely yummy & a great way to use frozen okra. The best thing about recipes like this is how adaptable they are. For example, if one wanted more spice, Rotel tomatoes could be used instead of stewed tomatoes. I personally don't ever have stewed tomatoes on hand & cut up a can of whole tomatoes instead. The true secret to this recipe is sauteeing the okra and veggies in the bacon drippings - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I love this recipe! 14.5 oz of tomatoes didn't seem like very much once I had the veggies chopped; luckily I had another can so I added that. I also only used 1/2 the amount of okra and it was more than enough. I recommend Del Monte brand stewed tomatoes, Cajun Recipe. It adds a nice hint of spice :) As other reviews suggested, I served this with white rice for a bigger meal. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This is very good. Plain, it's just so-so, but over rice, it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
my husband like okra only if it's fried. that when i made this, he thinks it would be slimy. but i made him try it and he love it now. love it! i used fresh tomatoes all the time but if i don't, i always drained the tomatoes in can to avoid it from getting slimy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
i made this for me and my fiance, and by looking at the picture he said he would try it, but it looked not so good lol. and i made it and guess what? i got 1 bowl and he stole the rest! it was tasty AND healthy, i will keep this in with my favorite recipes thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States