Okra and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by matt
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
That was goooood. Awesome recipe thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
I love it and it is very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Simpson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I used fresh tomatoes,fresh okra and added salt and pepper,garlic salt and cajun seasoning to give it some zing. I also added dried herbs like Italian seasoning and parsley.To give it some juice I used tomaoto juice and simmered until tender.Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Meserkhani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I don't like okra but my bf does and he Loved it!! Thanks for the recipe. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraleewanab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Just like my Momma made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Love this dish! I have made this with and without the bacon and it's great both ways. The celery really compliments the okra. I recommend fresh okra over frozen. It tastes so much better. It's in season down here right now so I have been serving this a lot lately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This was pretty good. I good use of left over okra. We served it over arborio rice. I added some red pepper flakes for extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Amazing!!! Here's how I spiced it up my own way and made it an entree. In the bacon fat (i left it all) I fried a 1/4 tsp each of caraway seed, fennel seed, and mustard seed. Before frying the onion, okra, celery and added 3 large cloves of minced garlic and a diced jalapeno. After that cooked through I added roma tomatoes that I chopped and smashed with my hands and let marinade for 30 min in the following; 1/2 tsp of fresh grated ginger, 1/2 a lime fresh squeezed plus pulp, 1/4 tsp of lemon garlic seasoning, and 1/4 teaspoon seafood seasoning like old bay. After the tomatoes cooked and released enough water to make it soupy I added a half pound of catfish nuggets that seasoned with the same as the tomatoes; lime, lemon garlic, old bay or mccormick Chesapeake bay and a pinch of ginger. I also added the fresh grated black pepper, sea salt flakes and some ground and crushed red pepper for some heat since I like things spicy. I served it over rice and found that if you like it saltier, soy sauce was a great addition. Great with a glass of South African Pinotage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Added a dash of Creole Seasoning...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This reminds me of a dish my mom makes but in my opinion better. I did do a few things different to accommodate my taste. The recipe didn't make it clear if this was what you are supposed to do but I sauteed the veggies in the bacon fat. I caramelized the onions alone first because I wanted to make sure I would not come across any under cooked onions. I also used a combination of my own stewed tomatoes to use some fresh organic tomatoes that were getting over ripe along with a can of whole tomatoes which I chopped up and added to my tomatoes. I had those simmering on the stove while I did the other steps. I also left out the bell peppers simply because I do not like them and don't keep them on hand. Oh and I also used fresh organic okra which I got at the same time as the bacon and tomatoes at a local farmers market. I think part of the reason I enjoyed this recipe was the fresh ingredients I used and the bacon was actually a smoke cured bacon so it had a flavor that really added to the dish. I didn't cook the celery that tender but I liked the added crunch so it didn't bother me at all. I would start with the celery and onion if you want everything soft without letting the okra get too soft. Oh one other change I made was that I chopped up the cooked bacon into little strips and sauteed with the okra, celery, and onion. Without my changes I likely would give this recipe one less star. If you want something spicier add a pepper seasoning or a jalapeno or Serrano pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States