Okra and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
I love it and it is very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Simpson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I used fresh tomatoes,fresh okra and added salt and pepper,garlic salt and cajun seasoning to give it some zing. I also added dried herbs like Italian seasoning and parsley.To give it some juice I used tomaoto juice and simmered until tender.Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Meserkhani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I don't like okra but my bf does and he Loved it!! Thanks for the recipe. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraleewanab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Just like my Momma made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Love this dish! I have made this with and without the bacon and it's great both ways. The celery really compliments the okra. I recommend fresh okra over frozen. It tastes so much better. It's in season down here right now so I have been serving this a lot lately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This was pretty good. I good use of left over okra. We served it over arborio rice. I added some red pepper flakes for extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Amazing!!! Here's how I spiced it up my own way and made it an entree. In the bacon fat (i left it all) I fried a 1/4 tsp each of caraway seed, fennel seed, and mustard seed. Before frying the onion, okra, celery and added 3 large cloves of minced garlic and a diced jalapeno. After that cooked through I added roma tomatoes that I chopped and smashed with my hands and let marinade for 30 min in the following; 1/2 tsp of fresh grated ginger, 1/2 a lime fresh squeezed plus pulp, 1/4 tsp of lemon garlic seasoning, and 1/4 teaspoon seafood seasoning like old bay. After the tomatoes cooked and released enough water to make it soupy I added a half pound of catfish nuggets that seasoned with the same as the tomatoes; lime, lemon garlic, old bay or mccormick Chesapeake bay and a pinch of ginger. I also added the fresh grated black pepper, sea salt flakes and some ground and crushed red pepper for some heat since I like things spicy. I served it over rice and found that if you like it saltier, soy sauce was a great addition. Great with a glass of South African Pinotage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Added a dash of Creole Seasoning...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This reminds me of a dish my mom makes but in my opinion better. I did do a few things different to accommodate my taste. The recipe didn't make it clear if this was what you are supposed to do but I sauteed the veggies in the bacon fat. I caramelized the onions alone first because I wanted to make sure I would not come across any under cooked onions. I also used a combination of my own stewed tomatoes to use some fresh organic tomatoes that were getting over ripe along with a can of whole tomatoes which I chopped up and added to my tomatoes. I had those simmering on the stove while I did the other steps. I also left out the bell peppers simply because I do not like them and don't keep them on hand. Oh and I also used fresh organic okra which I got at the same time as the bacon and tomatoes at a local farmers market. I think part of the reason I enjoyed this recipe was the fresh ingredients I used and the bacon was actually a smoke cured bacon so it had a flavor that really added to the dish. I didn't cook the celery that tender but I liked the added crunch so it didn't bother me at all. I would start with the celery and onion if you want everything soft without letting the okra get too soft. Oh one other change I made was that I chopped up the cooked bacon into little strips and sauteed with the okra, celery, and onion. Without my changes I likely would give this recipe one less star. If you want something spicier add a pepper seasoning or a jalapeno or Serrano pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Only change was to skip the stewed tomatoes for two chopped roma and a good handful of sliced grape tomatoes; and I threw in the Creole seasoning as suggested by many. I saute the onions first on their own and when they've softened I added everything else. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States