Okra and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I used fresh tomatoes,fresh okra and added salt and pepper,garlic salt and cajun seasoning to give it some zing. I also added dried herbs like Italian seasoning and parsley.To give it some juice I used tomaoto juice and simmered until tender.Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Meserkhani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I don't like okra but my bf does and he Loved it!! Thanks for the recipe. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraleewanab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Just like my Momma made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Love this dish! I have made this with and without the bacon and it's great both ways. The celery really compliments the okra. I recommend fresh okra over frozen. It tastes so much better. It's in season down here right now so I have been serving this a lot lately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This was pretty good. I good use of left over okra. We served it over arborio rice. I added some red pepper flakes for extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Amazing!!! Here's how I spiced it up my own way and made it an entree. In the bacon fat (i left it all) I fried a 1/4 tsp each of caraway seed, fennel seed, and mustard seed. Before frying the onion, okra, celery and added 3 large cloves of minced garlic and a diced jalapeno. After that cooked through I added roma tomatoes that I chopped and smashed with my hands and let marinade for 30 min in the following; 1/2 tsp of fresh grated ginger, 1/2 a lime fresh squeezed plus pulp, 1/4 tsp of lemon garlic seasoning, and 1/4 teaspoon seafood seasoning like old bay. After the tomatoes cooked and released enough water to make it soupy I added a half pound of catfish nuggets that seasoned with the same as the tomatoes; lime, lemon garlic, old bay or mccormick Chesapeake bay and a pinch of ginger. I also added the fresh grated black pepper, sea salt flakes and some ground and crushed red pepper for some heat since I like things spicy. I served it over rice and found that if you like it saltier, soy sauce was a great addition. Great with a glass of South African Pinotage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Added a dash of Creole Seasoning...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This reminds me of a dish my mom makes but in my opinion better. I did do a few things different to accommodate my taste. The recipe didn't make it clear if this was what you are supposed to do but I sauteed the veggies in the bacon fat. I caramelized the onions alone first because I wanted to make sure I would not come across any under cooked onions. I also used a combination of my own stewed tomatoes to use some fresh organic tomatoes that were getting over ripe along with a can of whole tomatoes which I chopped up and added to my tomatoes. I had those simmering on the stove while I did the other steps. I also left out the bell peppers simply because I do not like them and don't keep them on hand. Oh and I also used fresh organic okra which I got at the same time as the bacon and tomatoes at a local farmers market. I think part of the reason I enjoyed this recipe was the fresh ingredients I used and the bacon was actually a smoke cured bacon so it had a flavor that really added to the dish. I didn't cook the celery that tender but I liked the added crunch so it didn't bother me at all. I would start with the celery and onion if you want everything soft without letting the okra get too soft. Oh one other change I made was that I chopped up the cooked bacon into little strips and sauteed with the okra, celery, and onion. Without my changes I likely would give this recipe one less star. If you want something spicier add a pepper seasoning or a jalapeno or Serrano pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Only change was to skip the stewed tomatoes for two chopped roma and a good handful of sliced grape tomatoes; and I threw in the Creole seasoning as suggested by many. I saute the onions first on their own and when they've softened I added everything else. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ohiogirlie74
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I hate okra. I hate it less after this recipe, which is really saying something. We used fresh tomatoes from the garden (8 roma and 3 yellow heirloom) instead of canned, because we had a ton of them - and for seasoning I used a Mrs Dash spicy pepper blend. I felt like it needed a lot of salt, which must come naturally if using canned tomatoes. There was still that stringy snotty slime essence, but, this is a REALLY great way to eat okra without deep frying it. Served with a side of Andouille sausage, over rice - next time, I'll cut the sausage up and cook it in the stew. Yes, I said next time! I'm surprised, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohiogirlie74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States