Okra and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I hate Okra, that has always been the way with me. Hate it! Then I started a garden and someone gave me some orgaic Okra seeds. I planted them - I don't know why but I did and they came up beautifully. Well this receipe changed my mind on Okra. My husband and I loved it. I cut them fresh from the garden and did the receipe pretty much just as it is written , except for adding some creole spice and jalepenos for heat. It was fantastic, I can't wait to make it again. I am so happy for two reasons, one this great receipe and two - I didn't waste space in my garden planting this Okra, now what to do with the eggplants!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I gave this four stars because I had to add Cajun seasoning to spice it up...it was too bland (for my taste) without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I am a born and raised southerner and this is without a doubt the BEST Okra and Tomatoes I have ever tasted. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Did not have celery, used fresh okra and tomatoes, add 1/4 cup of lemon juice and sprinkles a little cormeal to soak up the little bit of slim there was. Very Very good! Going to try with frozen okra and frozen tomatoes next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I will make this again and again!! WHat a great way to use upo summer veggies!! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Yummy and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I had the odd situation of having fresh okra in my backyard as a biology project but never having eaten it before. I was a little wary of the classic frying recipes, so I tried this one. At first I was worried that it would turn out bland as many of the reviews mentioned adding extra spices, of which I had none. But the end product was truly delicious with just salt and pepper - as said before, you really can't screw this up! My only suggestion is maybe to add celery first or cut it up extremely small, as my okra and bell peppers were thoroughly cooked when my celery still had a fair amount of rawness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This was delicious. I used fresh okra and tripled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I added some garlic. Very good. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erz2002
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
We enjoyed this. I left out the celery (personal preference). I also left out the bacon to make it healthier and just sauteed in olive oil. And I added some cajun seasoning. I think this would be good with shrimp or a smoked sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States