Okra and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This was pretty good. I good use of left over okra. We served it over arborio rice. I added some red pepper flakes for extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Amazing!!! Here's how I spiced it up my own way and made it an entree. In the bacon fat (i left it all) I fried a 1/4 tsp each of caraway seed, fennel seed, and mustard seed. Before frying the onion, okra, celery and added 3 large cloves of minced garlic and a diced jalapeno. After that cooked through I added roma tomatoes that I chopped and smashed with my hands and let marinade for 30 min in the following; 1/2 tsp of fresh grated ginger, 1/2 a lime fresh squeezed plus pulp, 1/4 tsp of lemon garlic seasoning, and 1/4 teaspoon seafood seasoning like old bay. After the tomatoes cooked and released enough water to make it soupy I added a half pound of catfish nuggets that seasoned with the same as the tomatoes; lime, lemon garlic, old bay or mccormick Chesapeake bay and a pinch of ginger. I also added the fresh grated black pepper, sea salt flakes and some ground and crushed red pepper for some heat since I like things spicy. I served it over rice and found that if you like it saltier, soy sauce was a great addition. Great with a glass of South African Pinotage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Added a dash of Creole Seasoning...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This reminds me of a dish my mom makes but in my opinion better. I did do a few things different to accommodate my taste. The recipe didn't make it clear if this was what you are supposed to do but I sauteed the veggies in the bacon fat. I caramelized the onions alone first because I wanted to make sure I would not come across any under cooked onions. I also used a combination of my own stewed tomatoes to use some fresh organic tomatoes that were getting over ripe along with a can of whole tomatoes which I chopped up and added to my tomatoes. I had those simmering on the stove while I did the other steps. I also left out the bell peppers simply because I do not like them and don't keep them on hand. Oh and I also used fresh organic okra which I got at the same time as the bacon and tomatoes at a local farmers market. I think part of the reason I enjoyed this recipe was the fresh ingredients I used and the bacon was actually a smoke cured bacon so it had a flavor that really added to the dish. I didn't cook the celery that tender but I liked the added crunch so it didn't bother me at all. I would start with the celery and onion if you want everything soft without letting the okra get too soft. Oh one other change I made was that I chopped up the cooked bacon into little strips and sauteed with the okra, celery, and onion. Without my changes I likely would give this recipe one less star. If you want something spicier add a pepper seasoning or a jalapeno or Serrano pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Only change was to skip the stewed tomatoes for two chopped roma and a good handful of sliced grape tomatoes; and I threw in the Creole seasoning as suggested by many. I saute the onions first on their own and when they've softened I added everything else. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ohiogirlie74
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I hate okra. I hate it less after this recipe, which is really saying something. We used fresh tomatoes from the garden (8 roma and 3 yellow heirloom) instead of canned, because we had a ton of them - and for seasoning I used a Mrs Dash spicy pepper blend. I felt like it needed a lot of salt, which must come naturally if using canned tomatoes. There was still that stringy snotty slime essence, but, this is a REALLY great way to eat okra without deep frying it. Served with a side of Andouille sausage, over rice - next time, I'll cut the sausage up and cook it in the stew. Yes, I said next time! I'm surprised, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohiogirlie74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Made this recipe tonight with a fresh batch of okra from the garden. This was my first time attempting to cook okra so when it got kinda slimmy I was worried but it tastes GREAT and after you add the tomatoes, the slimmy stuff disappears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJBHOME

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Excellent! Great flavor. I used fresh okra and cooked them whole for about 20min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angeltown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Not bad, but pretty bland as given so it needed additional spices. I added minced garlic and cayenne and it made it a lot better. It's a nice base for a lot of possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I make something very similiar but it calls for a cup of corn and instead of the can stewed tomatoes I use a can of Ro*tel,its my hubbys favorite dish so I always try to keep the ingrenients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States