Okra and Tomatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Sooo good, really. I used this recipe in Phase 1 of my South Beach Diet. I used red chiles instead and it tasted so great. I also substituted turkey bacon for the real bacon. I like the taste of okra and the extra veggies and seasoning made it perfect. Please try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rashel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selah, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This made the house smell absolutely wonderful! I added a little bit of ham and used fresh banana peppers and tomatoes from my garden instead of roma tomatoes and chile peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Recipe turned out exactly like it said. And the vinegar was a really nice trick! I made it,and it was really delicious and extremely healthy! Will make again. My fiance loved this dish. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tinton Falls, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
easy to make and full of flavor, even my 4 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was great. My husband and 16-yr old son loved it. Thaye have asked for it almost every week since I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
was great. my husband says i can never leave a recipe alone! the only adjustments i made were... i fried 6 pieces of bacon. crumbled it but added it to bowl AFTER dish was cooked cooked some minute rice poured recipe over cooked rice added bacon had french bread and was our whole meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Excellent! I take exception to the few lower marks given to this recipe by people who used FROZEN okra. I used one anehiem (sp?) chili pepper and 4 large tomatoes from the garden because it was what I had on hand. I also used an extra slice of bacon because, well, its bacon. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Great veggie recipe! I also added 1/2 bell pepper and 2 stalks celery. Served over rice, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Very good! Not sure about the vinegar, may not have used it long enough but just made a few pieces of okra slimey on the outside. Used 10 pieces of Turkey bacon, added 2 fresh jalapenos, 1 bell pepper, 3 stalks of celery, and a can of diced tomatoes because we wanted more tomatoes. Made stock pot, more than 6 servings for us when used as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond Heights, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
As far as okra goes this was really good. The only other way I know how to make it is fried so this was a good new way to make it. I let it simmer on high for last ten minutes with the cover off to cook off the liquid because it seemed a little watery. Over all it was good and there was nothing left so that is a good sign. All of the veggies were fresh from my mom's garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States