Okra Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I have had a variation of this with breaded okra. It is absolutely delicious and addicting! However, this un-breaded version is going to be better for you and just as good! I'm doing the low carb thing, and if I substitute splenda for the sugar, this is completely "legal"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I am from the south, and didn't know you could do okra except fried or boiled and maybe in a gumbo this is GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Excellent side dish! Fresh cut okra-when in season. works just as well as the frozen cut variety. For those that like the 'taste' of bacon grease, as another reviewer said, try this: after mixing the sugar, vinegar and oil together pour it into the skillet and stir. This will help the sugar melt quickly and also 'pick up' the flavor of the bacon. Remove from heat and cool slightly. pour over the veggie mix and toss. Add crumbled bacon. This is equally good served at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skyye

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
This was wonderful! Previously, I have only fried okra or put into gumbo. I used fresh out of my neighbors garden, and sauteed quickly just until tender crisp - perhaps that is why it didn't turn "slimy". I did substite olive oil and balsamic vinegar, and added some red pepper flakes for kick. Was a hit with my company. I will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This has expanded my previous okra possibilities! I added a little more bacon, because bacon fat rules! And I added some blanched (frozen) black eyed peas! Yummy goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScooterMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
We always grow a ton of okra and are looking for new recipes for our favorite veggie. This was great. However I did make a few changes. I only cooked the fresh okra until tender and warm all the way through. I also added cheese, about a 1/2 cup and replaced the corn syrup with mayo. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blakely, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Really great recipe. Reminds me of my grandmother's cooking, ver rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Great summer recipe very light. I found the hints of adding bacon just before serving to be very helpful. I have done this dish 2 times in the past month as my garden okra is really coming in now. I have 2 other things: First, I cut the sugar down to 1/4 the second time and it was much better. The first time I used the full 1/3 cup and it was too sweet. Just for new users even though okra is cooked until tender, once marinated with other ingredients it becomes a bit slimmy so you may want to make sure boiled okra is a favorite. I love it, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
My family and I have grown up eating fresh home grown okra. About 10 years ago we tried raw okra with ranch dressing and it was delicious! We were pleasantly surprised. Very little slimy taste you get with cooked okra. Hope some of you readers will give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Made it per the recipe and it is very delicious. I'm a big bacon & okra lover so I think I'd increase the amount of bacon and okra when I make it next & I do plan on making it again! It was a hit for the whole family...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mapanggulo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States