Okra Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This made an intresting side dish. I used veggie bacon instead of real and it was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Because I didn't have time to completely chill this, we ate it still slightly warm. I thought that the bacon might get lose it's crispness if I added it in with the veggies, so I sprinkled it on top just before serving. We really enjoyed this. Thanks, Lunana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I have had a variation of this with breaded okra. It is absolutely delicious and addicting! However, this un-breaded version is going to be better for you and just as good! I'm doing the low carb thing, and if I substitute splenda for the sugar, this is completely "legal"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
This was wonderful! Previously, I have only fried okra or put into gumbo. I used fresh out of my neighbors garden, and sauteed quickly just until tender crisp - perhaps that is why it didn't turn "slimy". I did substite olive oil and balsamic vinegar, and added some red pepper flakes for kick. Was a hit with my company. I will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I am from the south, and didn't know you could do okra except fried or boiled and maybe in a gumbo this is GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Wow! This was outstanding! I let it chill for about four hours before sampling, and I couldn't believe the flavor. Everything melds together so well. Like Caroline C, I added the bacon just before serving, so it wouldn't be soggy. This is wonderful, thanks Lunana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Great summer recipe very light. I found the hints of adding bacon just before serving to be very helpful. I have done this dish 2 times in the past month as my garden okra is really coming in now. I have 2 other things: First, I cut the sugar down to 1/4 the second time and it was much better. The first time I used the full 1/3 cup and it was too sweet. Just for new users even though okra is cooked until tender, once marinated with other ingredients it becomes a bit slimmy so you may want to make sure boiled okra is a favorite. I love it, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This has expanded my previous okra possibilities! I added a little more bacon, because bacon fat rules! And I added some blanched (frozen) black eyed peas! Yummy goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScooterMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
We always grow a ton of okra and are looking for new recipes for our favorite veggie. This was great. However I did make a few changes. I only cooked the fresh okra until tender and warm all the way through. I also added cheese, about a 1/2 cup and replaced the corn syrup with mayo. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blakely, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I used fresh okra. looked really slimey no one wanted to eat it. did not look appealing. Maybe i will use frozen okra next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States