Okra Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
This was wonderful! Previously, I have only fried okra or put into gumbo. I used fresh out of my neighbors garden, and sauteed quickly just until tender crisp - perhaps that is why it didn't turn "slimy". I did substite olive oil and balsamic vinegar, and added some red pepper flakes for kick. Was a hit with my company. I will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Excellent side dish! Fresh cut okra-when in season. works just as well as the frozen cut variety. For those that like the 'taste' of bacon grease, as another reviewer said, try this: after mixing the sugar, vinegar and oil together pour it into the skillet and stir. This will help the sugar melt quickly and also 'pick up' the flavor of the bacon. Remove from heat and cool slightly. pour over the veggie mix and toss. Add crumbled bacon. This is equally good served at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skyye

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I have had a variation of this with breaded okra. It is absolutely delicious and addicting! However, this un-breaded version is going to be better for you and just as good! I'm doing the low carb thing, and if I substitute splenda for the sugar, this is completely "legal"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Great summer recipe very light. I found the hints of adding bacon just before serving to be very helpful. I have done this dish 2 times in the past month as my garden okra is really coming in now. I have 2 other things: First, I cut the sugar down to 1/4 the second time and it was much better. The first time I used the full 1/3 cup and it was too sweet. Just for new users even though okra is cooked until tender, once marinated with other ingredients it becomes a bit slimmy so you may want to make sure boiled okra is a favorite. I love it, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This has expanded my previous okra possibilities! I added a little more bacon, because bacon fat rules! And I added some blanched (frozen) black eyed peas! Yummy goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScooterMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Because I didn't have time to completely chill this, we ate it still slightly warm. I thought that the bacon might get lose it's crispness if I added it in with the veggies, so I sprinkled it on top just before serving. We really enjoyed this. Thanks, Lunana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
We always grow a ton of okra and are looking for new recipes for our favorite veggie. This was great. However I did make a few changes. I only cooked the fresh okra until tender and warm all the way through. I also added cheese, about a 1/2 cup and replaced the corn syrup with mayo. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blakely, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
My family and I have grown up eating fresh home grown okra. About 10 years ago we tried raw okra with ranch dressing and it was delicious! We were pleasantly surprised. Very little slimy taste you get with cooked okra. Hope some of you readers will give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Wow! This was outstanding! I let it chill for about four hours before sampling, and I couldn't believe the flavor. Everything melds together so well. Like Caroline C, I added the bacon just before serving, so it wouldn't be soggy. This is wonderful, thanks Lunana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This made an intresting side dish. I used veggie bacon instead of real and it was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States