Okra Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Love this new twist to okra! Doesn't need the bacon, IMHO, though we used it the first time. Used 1 T raw sugar and 3 servings of stevia powder - lower cal. We're northerners living in the south, but needed allrecipes to help us gain from Lulnana's and other's experience. Now we love okra roasted, grilled, smothered in a combination of half spaghetti sauce and half picante sauce with onions, garlic, chicken, or fish, and other veggies that need used up over rice, and even like eating the little ones straight from the garden - fresh. I wanted an okra salad, but didn't know where to start! Now we've got this great salad! Had only a little leftover - not sure my family would eat this after a couple of days, since you could finally see the slime taking to the dressing, but it didn't taste or feel slimy at all. Really a pleasure to each this nutritious salad. Since we like roasting and grilling okra, and we saute it for smothered okra or etc, we'll just cook up extra when we roast, grill, or saute, and toss some in a bowl to make the salad the next day! My husband and I haven't been big into gardening, but now that we are, love that okra grows down here in the south even when other veggies are barely getting by during the hotter months. Gotta admit, when I made this, my kids were squirmy, but they enjoyed it some. But hey, the used to hate grits, and now love 'em. They're learning to love okra bit by bit too! Thanks Lunana and allrecipes! Next....., callallo soup (sp?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I love okra, but hesitated making it because of the slime factor. This a very nice and fresh salad with barely a trace of slime. I am a total bacon addict (cooked six slices - three for the salad, three for the chef) but I don't think it really needed it. Next time I think I'll add some fresh herbs. It was lovely and fresh but could have used a little more zip. Basil? Crushed red pepper?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Made it per the recipe and it is very delicious. I'm a big bacon & okra lover so I think I'd increase the amount of bacon and okra when I make it next & I do plan on making it again! It was a hit for the whole family...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mapanggulo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Really great recipe. Reminds me of my grandmother's cooking, ver rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Excellent side dish! Fresh cut okra-when in season. works just as well as the frozen cut variety. For those that like the 'taste' of bacon grease, as another reviewer said, try this: after mixing the sugar, vinegar and oil together pour it into the skillet and stir. This will help the sugar melt quickly and also 'pick up' the flavor of the bacon. Remove from heat and cool slightly. pour over the veggie mix and toss. Add crumbled bacon. This is equally good served at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skyye

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
My family and I have grown up eating fresh home grown okra. About 10 years ago we tried raw okra with ranch dressing and it was delicious! We were pleasantly surprised. Very little slimy taste you get with cooked okra. Hope some of you readers will give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I tried this the other night and used fresh okra from my garden and it turned out great. It's a great dish for a hot day. As a suggestion... after it was almost gone I took a small cucumber that I had from the garden and added it to the mix and let it chill over night had it with my lunch it was good to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I used fresh okra. looked really slimey no one wanted to eat it. did not look appealing. Maybe i will use frozen okra next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
We always grow a ton of okra and are looking for new recipes for our favorite veggie. This was great. However I did make a few changes. I only cooked the fresh okra until tender and warm all the way through. I also added cheese, about a 1/2 cup and replaced the corn syrup with mayo. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blakely, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This has expanded my previous okra possibilities! I added a little more bacon, because bacon fat rules! And I added some blanched (frozen) black eyed peas! Yummy goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScooterMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States