Okra Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
These are very good. I substituted for the salt and pepper, garlic salt and cayenne to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
Really very good, and I don't like Okra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pawleys Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
We loved these! Since we are originally from the North, okra is a somewhat foreign food to me. So, since I've found that I actually like it, I've been trying to find different ways to use it, and this recipe is great and so easy! Like the other reviewer, next time, I think I will put some more seasoning in the mix, but the consistency was just right and they have that real "comfort food" taste. They are great dipped in ranch or hot sauce. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILFRAZIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
These are very good. Okra patties were a chilhood favorite of my husband's so I was glad to find a recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
This recipe was a little bland for my husband and me, but our 18 month old son LOVES it. Next time I make it, I'll try adding more easoning, maybe seasoned salt. I didn't fry them in the 1" of oil the recipe calls for, I just used a bit of oil in the frying pan, so that may have affected the flavor, too. But I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
These come out really well when you add some garlic and throw some chopped hot peppers to the mix. Many people I know who think they hate okra love this dish--it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
Having rarely eaten okra and never cooked it, I was somewhat at a loss when given a bunch of fresh okra. I decided on this recipe, and as written I would give it a 3 since it was rather bland. However, it has the potential to be more flavorful with the addition of seasonings as other reviewers suggested, or maybe some Cajun seasoning. We both thought it needed some dipping sauce and tried spicy ranch and that greatly enhanced them. The recipe doesn't say how large to make the patties, but since they're referred to as snacks I would imagine they are supposed to be smallish. If you've never cooked okra, this is an experience because the consistency of the uncooked product is WEIRD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
We just call this fried okra where I am from. So tasty and good. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
You must spice these up a lot! and then they are delicious. I substituted whole wheat flour instead of regular. I added salt free Tony Sacheres (sp?) and hot sauce. My family really enjoyed these. I also only used cooking spray instead of deep frying these and the cooking time went up to probably 4 minutes per side on pretty high heat. Thanks for this recipe. I will use it again when my okra produces in the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I seasoned these to taste with some Jalepeno seasoning black pepper and salt, also subsituted 1 fresh squash diced finely for some of the okra. These turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southwell
Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States