Okra Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Cut up larger pieces of onion and green tomatoes and add to mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
We had a huge amount of okra to use up so I tried this recipe. Chopping the okra finely is a really tedious and sticky job, so I ended up whizzing them in the food processor. I made these at my moms house. I doubled the recipe and it made LOTS!! Made half as written, and the other half I added some curry powder, garam masala and cumin to it. Let me tell you, it really needed the spices! The first half was good, but a bit bland, hence the four stars. The second one was really good and flavourful. Everyone loved it. THIS one deserved FIVE stars. So IN SHORT, WITHOUT SPICES=4 **, WITH SPICES=5**. THANKS FOR SHARING THIS GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
These are good, but I think I prefer just plain fried okra. To be fair, I only thinly sliced the okra, I did not chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Big Bend National Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I was looking for a different way of doing okra, and this recipe really fit the bill! I used wayyy less than 3 cups of oil for frying, and I added a little bit of garlic powder. My only complaint was that the patties turned out rather dry (ketchup didn't help). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
very good recipe to work with on the fly. I had a 6 or 7 okra that a friend gave to me and just put in enough onion equal to the okra and eyed the rest of the ingredients (+ garlic powder and cajun spice). Also, I didn't finely chop anything. these came out really good! I'm eatting them with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisha_bakez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Very very good. My husband and I loved them. I did cut down on the oil a lot though I used about 1/4 to 1/3 of a cup of canola oil. I think they will be great with cayenne pepper. Perfect way to use fresh okra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEAMOSRU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Pretty good. I took some liberties with this recipe. Since I didn't have enough okra, I added some chopped spinach. I also used egg substitute for the egg and added some cayenne and red pepper flakes for an extra kick. I also didn't use the veg oil and instead used non-stick cooking spray. Came out really well. Sadly I will never make okra again...I had no idea it was SLIMY! Ewww. Will eat it again, if I can talk someone else into making it for me. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Good Lord, these are tasty! I read the raves and thought, "It's just an okra patty... How good could it really be?!" The answer is: Better than I ever could have anticipated. The only changes I made were to add garlic powder and fresh banana peppers. The flavor and texture were both fantastic—I will absolutely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Definitely a keeper! I used a little higher proportion of okra, because I needed to use it up. I added garlic powder and thyme, and that was definitely a nice combo. This recipe could be used with any vegetable fritter idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Great recipe, I like the fact that you make them into patties, makes them alot easier to deal with while cooking. Taste is restuarant quality. Will be making these quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msybizkit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States