Okra Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
You must spice these up a lot! and then they are delicious. I substituted whole wheat flour instead of regular. I added salt free Tony Sacheres (sp?) and hot sauce. My family really enjoyed these. I also only used cooking spray instead of deep frying these and the cooking time went up to probably 4 minutes per side on pretty high heat. Thanks for this recipe. I will use it again when my okra produces in the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
We loved these! Since we are originally from the North, okra is a somewhat foreign food to me. So, since I've found that I actually like it, I've been trying to find different ways to use it, and this recipe is great and so easy! Like the other reviewer, next time, I think I will put some more seasoning in the mix, but the consistency was just right and they have that real "comfort food" taste. They are great dipped in ranch or hot sauce. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILFRAZIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
These are very good. I substituted for the salt and pepper, garlic salt and cayenne to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I seasoned these to taste with some Jalepeno seasoning black pepper and salt, also subsituted 1 fresh squash diced finely for some of the okra. These turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southwell
Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Great recipe, I like the fact that you make them into patties, makes them alot easier to deal with while cooking. Taste is restuarant quality. Will be making these quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msybizkit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Great way to use up a lot of Okra! My two-year-old even liked them with a little ketchup. I served them with a spicy french salad dressing and cajun-spiced oven-baked tilapia... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ursula Mann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
Really very good, and I don't like Okra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pawleys Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I'm not talented at frying what-so-ever. I burnt the first batch, but the second batch were WONDERFUL. Even my husband who doesn't like okra much enjoyed them! He rated it an "I would eat this again" which is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
These were pretty tasty. I did add about 1 tsp of garlic salt and it really enhanced the okra flavor. Of course, we add that to just about everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
These are very good. Okra patties were a chilhood favorite of my husband's so I was glad to find a recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States