Okra Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
My family loved these! This is a really good way to use up all the extra okra from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
My daughter in law is always making a different predinner snack. THIS was made the second time, as the bread for the meal of veggies. Absolutely wonderful and she deserves all the praise she got for finding this simple - divine summer bread/snack. Make no changes. It's perfect. Thanks REDIRG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I LOVED these! It is kinda difficult to chop the okra so small but next time I will use a food processor. I added extra seasonings but that was all. I like red pepper flakes and garlic powder in addition to what spices this recipe already called for. I will make these again for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri Lynn
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Okra patties are a very southern food, if you are not from the South then you might want to avoid this dish becasue you could easily make it more difficult by adding things not needed. These are a simple and should remain so. Seasoning needed: sea salt and course ground black pepper. Use fresh okra! I bought a homegrown okra from a local farm, from a mom and pop grocery store and had to double the mixture. Use a good, course corn meal. If you're looking for a low fat snack, don't try these. Use oil, preferably peanut oil. You don't have to use too much, just enough to be able to flip them over but keep them cooking. Using cooking spray, these will not taste the same. As a southern woman, my grandmother made these as a side for dinner, when I made this recipe (doubled and with fresh okara) they were very close to her recipe. Excellent. Don't forget the sea salt and course ground black pepper. no more seasonings needed to taste like a real okra patty. :) One thing I did differently was the whole wheat flour instead of white...could not taste the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liztx8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
These are wonderful. Something different and fun. Much easier than the traditional fried okra. I do agree with lacking in spices. I thought it needed more salt and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
i eliminated the oil to fry in because I "dry fried" my patties. I used chipotle chili pepper instead of black pepper, and garbanzo bean flour instead of ap flour. These are great tasting, especially with salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I was a not sure when I read the recipe about this, but it was soooo good! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This was a lovely recipe----truly, and we even loved the patties cold the next day!!!! I added some southwest spice, onion powder because I did not have enough fresh onion, and not sure what else . . . Oh, I put some of the okra in a small food prcessor so the textures of the okra would be varied . . . we loved it!!!! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I really liked the flavor and taste of this recipe. I am a lover of fried okra, but was looking for something a little more healthy and this was it! It was a lot of work though, and a bit messy for someone who has never fried anything before. I will definatly keep this recipe and continue working on my frying skills. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Cut up larger pieces of onion and green tomatoes and add to mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States