Okra Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Okay, so I understand the criticism that people don't like it when you don't follow a recipe exactly, and then you try to rate it... but the way I see it, making the recipe as written (especially after reading the reviews) would be a waste of a perfectly good meal. Okay, so I'm no gumbo expert by any means, I was just looking for a soup I could turn into a one pot meal, so I started with this recipe. The hubby doesn't like mushrooms so I subbed other veggies, then added some chicken and andouille sausage for some extra flavor and protein since when I looked at the nutritional profile, this looked like a great side, but not a full meal. The recipe as written is severely lacking in liquid (Like I said, I'm not gumbo expert, but I thought gumbo was supposed to be a soup!), so I added 4 cups of vegetable broth. After reading other reviews, I was a little afraid to follow the instructions as written with the file, and perhaps this is why I found the flavors lacking. I added some creole seasoning (Sorry I can't advise how much, I just kept adding and tasting till it had the flavor I was looking for) and only added the file to the bowl at the end. The result was delicious, but it wasn't the recipe as written. Still, I couldn't have made this without the recipe instructions plus reading several very helpful reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
We added hot sauce, water, vegetable bullion and left out the sassafras. The gumbo was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Allred
Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I did not add the file powder either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This recipe needs a lot of adjustments, but it's an okay place to start. Agree no file; but we did add some thyme. And used celery instead of mushrooms. As well, at lest two cans of vegetarian broth or you won't have a gumbo but a mushy stew. Added a pretty dark roux and served with short-grain brown rice and fresh chives. Next time will use more onion, pepper, celery for that large amount of okra. Oh, a little tomato paste won't hurt, but will try double diced tomato--no paste. UPDATE: Second time no tomato paste--huge improvement. Soaked okra in milk and it made the texture perfect. Went for a slightly darker roux and that nailed it. Added shredded chicken for the meat eaters in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I love all of the ingredients in this recipe! However, this combination does not make what I think of as gumbo. It was thick and pasty - I added more liquid. I did not add the File because they would just make it pastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shelbyville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This recipe was pretty good. I did make some changes based on other reviewers. First, since other people thought it tasted too much like tomato paste, I only added 3 ounces tomato paste and then 3 ounces tomato sauce. I added 1 cup of vegetable broth along with the tomatoes, and then I added a second cup of vegetable broth along with the roux. I left out the file powder completely. I also added about 1 teaspoon creole seasonings. Overall, it was a pretty good recipe and I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I am not sure what this dish is, but it is not gumbo. It appears to be some kind of thick stew. I think in the future if I want to make a veggie gumbo, I will use one of the traditional recipes and just substitute vegetables for meat. Also, the only veggie used in this recipe that isn’t included in standard gumbo is mushrooms so it especially disappointed. How about adding some corn, lima beans, green beans, carrots, cauliflower, or some combo thereof? Finally, never use both file powder and okra in gumbo. That part I already knew; use one or the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I omitted the tomato paste because I didn't want a strong tomato flavor, and it was plenty thick without it. Also omitted the file seasoning. Added thyme, celery seed, and Tony Chachere's seasoning. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This was great with the changes that I made. I did not use file powder or tomato paste. I substituted zucchini for the mushrooms and I added a jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
A delicious vegetarian gumbo recipe! Per previous comments, I did not use file powder, just tomato paste and roux—in my humble opinion, it's not gumbo without the roux. Even without file powder, the roux, tomato paste, and okra created a nice, thick texture; I actually added about 3 cups of water so it wasn't TOO thick. I suggest keeping a large glass of water handy and adding it as you think it's necessary. I also added thyme and celery seed, and both added a nice flavor to the dish. Very, very good—I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States