Okra Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This didn't go well for me. Disclaimer: I didn't use tomatoes or onions because nobody else in my family likes them. I think the biggest problem was the amount of okra. 2 lbs seems like WAY too much (at least when you don't use the other ingredients?) I could not seem to get them easily formed into patties at all. We tried adding more grits and another egg to no avail. Finally I was able to do a few by getting my hands wet under the sink. That seemed to give them enough moisture to work into pitiful crumbling masses. LOL. The end result wasn't horrible and the family ate them pretty well (nobody complained!) -- Overall, I would consider trying this recipe again, but I think next time I will only use 1 lb of okra and perhaps try adding another vegetable (like corn) to see how that works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyle Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I just made this tonight using the okra, tomatoe, and onion from my CSA. It was delicious :). After reading other reviews, I added 3 eggs instead of 2. My fritters did not fall apart and were wonderful. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I love Okra anything! The flavor was good but they fell apart while I cooked them. I made as written maybe someone has a trick to make them stay together?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This is the first time I ate okra, let alone cook it.It is a strange vegetable. The skin is tough and stringy. However, surprisingly this recipe turned out pretty tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This was such a big hit! I added a little bit of bacon grease. And I also precooked my onions and okra, just to soften it up a bit. My family demands that I make this again and again and again... UPDATE: I made these again last weekend with http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Grandpas-Tomato-Gravy/Detail.aspx , and it was a match made in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlyOakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Different and if you love okra a wonderful something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I have no idea what happened, but these were a failure. They fell apart while frying, but on the plus side, I love the incorporation of tomato in this. I've made variations of fritters before, but never with tomato. I might try this again sometime, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Hi Tiger: Sorry, I have not had time to try this recipe yet! Being from So.Georgia myself, I like okra prepared any way I can find it. I think this recipe is going to be wonderful. I will come back when I've tried it and update. Best wishes, Larry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States