Okra, Corn and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
I didn't have file powder and I really don't know what it is or where to buy it. However, the food still turned out good by replacing it with 2 bouillion cubes of beef or chicken. Yummmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I'm trying to eat healthier, so I've been looking for ways to prepare fresh okra other that frying. This is very tasty, quick & easy to make. My husband raved about it & is looking forward to the leftovers. I changed the amount of file powder to 1 tsp. instead of 1 Tb, because I wasn't sure how strong the flavor would be. And I shortened the first cooking time by 5 min. This will certainly become one of our favorite side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I did not have file powder (& also don't know what it is) so I seasoned with garlic salt, cumin, salt, pepper and a little red cayenne pepper. It really was wonderful. I used fresh okra and fresh sweet corn scraped from the cob. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I have never used file powder before and chose to make this recipe without. Since it's august, the 3 main veggies are in season so I used fresh. It was very good but was missing just a little something. I'm now going to keep my eye out for file powder (I'm in CA) and give this another try if I ever find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This was very very good I wanted to try okra so I planted it in my garden knowing nothing about what to do with it. This was very good and the corn made it great The only thing I would add is hot peppers and or a little brown sugar. I also added salt, pepper, cuman, and garlic salt. Because of these addtions I gave it 4 stars but with the additions I would give it 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Great taste. used mixed veggies,instead of corn because that is what I had, and was delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Good, however, not so sure that I liked the bacon in it. Next time, I think I will use smoked sausage. The combination of veggies turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YBRICK423

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Reminds me of what my Mom made when I was a child. Still as good. Thanks. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I couldn't find file powder anywhere, so I had to omit that. I'm not sure if I cared for the bacon, I think next time I'll leave it out. Otherwise, not a bad side dish, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
A keeper! I fried the onion and okra in a small amount of bacon fat and omitted the bacon. Also threw in a little garlic and green pepper. Used fresh okra and fresh tomatoes and canned corn. My husband likes spicy so I divided the recipe and added cayenne pepper to his half. Everyone was happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States