Okra, Corn and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This was really good. I did make some changes because I didn't have the file powder. So instead I substituted ground cummin and also used a little cilantro. I also used about 3 tblsp of olive oil to cook the okra and onions, then poured in a pouch of real bacon bits. I used fresh okra and cherry tomatoes from our garden with two nice spicey chopped jalepeno peppers. And just poured in a can of whole kernel corn (drained). The flavors were wonderful together and gave it just the right amount of "bite" that my family enjoys. We served it hot over cornbread. A definite hit for my family. Will be making this again. Thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I used fresh okra and fresh corn (raw and cut off the cob) but pretty much followed the directions and it worked out great. Very tasty side dish! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I got a recipe like this from a friend. I also put a little red pepper flakes in it and serve over basmati rice. Its a meal in itself for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I never liked okra as a child (slimy suckers). I made this dish for my father. My father, husband and son loved it (I loved it. have not eaten okra for ten yrs).. Great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was a staple in my house growing up! I still make this today and my mom and I have tried some variations. We have never used file powder, always boullion cubes. Also, sometimes we add green beans to the mixture. We also like to eat this as a soup, using a broth base and adding either ground beef or sliced link sausage. It is so good!!! Leftovers are even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I'd give it a low four because I think the corn took away from the flavor of the okra (my nephew, who enjoys a lot of the vegetable recipes I get off this site, agreed). I used Trader Joe's frozen sweet corn. Plus I only used a 16 oz bg and it was still way too much corn. I'd use less or no corn next time. Otherwise the flavor was good. I'm surprised people have a problem finding file powder. It is gumbo file and should be available with the creole seasonings in most big supermarkets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
It makes a lot of food. Okra gets a little gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was a decent dish. It was the first time I'd cooked okra, and the first time I'd used filé powder. I made the recipe exactly as written (I didn't find the okra and corn in the package sizes given, so I measured them out from 16 and 32 oz. packages respectively.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
my mother would brown grown beef with a little seasoning and eat over rice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I used more bacon (I know more fat), made it to go with some Smoked BBQ Chicken and it was a huge hit! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States