Okra, Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
The recipe should have called either for instant brown rice OR spent longer in the oven By the time the chicken was done cooking the rice still wasn't done. The combination of foods was interesting and tasty. A nice change. One of my kids liked it, the other didn't. BUT, I think that if I did the rice differently next time he would like it better too. Give it a try, it's a nice change in vegetable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
I loved the flavors, but I made the mistake of making this in my slow cooker, and it turned to mush. I made this again, in the oven, and followed another reviewer's tips - added 1 can French onion soup, 1 can cream of mushroom soup, 1 cup rice, 1 can water, added the chicken pieces on the top, and baked at 350 for an hour, uncovered. It was wonderful(!), but my chicken was a little overdone - I think 45 minutes would do it. The third time I made this, I reduced the baking time to 45 minutes, and the chicken was perfect...but the rice was crunchy. Aarrgh. Next time, I will bake the rice 15-20 minutes, THEN add the chicken, and cook it 45 minutes. This dish is way too easy for me to throw it out. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
I increased the cook time to 52 minutes - the rice was fully cooked and had absorbed all of the moisture. This is an excellent low-fat meal that I will be sure to cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
My brown rice needed 90 minutes to absorb most of the moisture. Next time I'll increase the temperature and watch the cooking time. I did spice it up with red pepper flakes I don't think 350 is high enough to cook the raw brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
The dish turned out to be bland. I followed the directions but should have marinated the chicken and added some more spices myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
I'm sorry, but this came out horrid. We had never tried okra before, and so I looked for a recipe to use it in and tried this one. Maybe I did something wrong, but it came out slimy. The chicken came out bland. I may try this again with another vegetable and more seasonings on the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
A good general weeknight dinner, nothing marvelous, but tasty enough to have again. I like the change of veggie with the okra. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
As it is, I am not sure how this recipe cooks all the way through in the time allowed. I made chicken and rice my way (one can french onion soup, one can cream of mushroom soup, one can water and one cup rice) and added fresh okra to the mix. Then put the chicken pieces on top and bake UNCOVERED for 1 hour at 350 degrees or until chicken juices run clear. Like this, it was very good. The okra doesn't add a ton of flavor but it does add an extra helping of vegetables to an already good dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAJUNSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
This recipe was very yummy. My 8 year old loved the rice and didn't even realize it had okra in it. It came out creamy, and the flavor was wonderful. The only canges I made were:I used fresh okra, chicken thighs and added salt to it. Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAXIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walldürn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
How many ways can I say WOW?!?! I absolutely loved this recipe, and, trust me, I will definitely be sure to make it again and again! Thank you so much for brightening up my day with this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States