Okra, Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
After reading other people's reviews I used some suggestions. I used a quick instant brown rice which came out perfect when cooked at 350 for 50 mins. I added ginger to the mixture, as I prefer the spice and it's good for you. Also used 1/2 c. of sour cream which made it a bit creamer, and added additional salt, pepper and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I thought this was good, I followed the advice of baking with the rice mixture for 20 minutes and adding the chicken and continue baking for an additional 45 minutes. That was perfect. I personally like more flavor, I tried chili flakes which was better, my husband added Old Bay and I really liked that, I would make it again as it is easy and add the Old Bay during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
We love this recipe - although because my family has to eat Gluten Free due to Celiac disease we don't use prepared soup. I sub one 14 1/2 oz can of diced tomatoes for the can of condensed mushroom soup - and I use a 16 oz bag of frozen sliced okra instead of slicing it myself - otherwise everything else is the same. We love the tomatoes with the okra too. I think they add a bit more liquid which aids the brown rice in it's cooking....oh I also put the chicken in the pan first and cover it with everything else so it doesn't dry out while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
So easy, nice and quick!!! We will do again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
this recipe needs more tweaking. i read the reviews and added the packet of dry onion soup mix so the flavor was really great but just like so many people wrote...the chicken was overdone and the rice was not done. i even used wild rice, hoping it didn't need as long as brown rice. :( i even removed the already overcooked chicken and put the rice back in but there just wasn't enough moisture to get it soft. nice flavor but i won't do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaffney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was reeeally good! i only had white rice but it worked out just fine. I'm pretty sure i added my own seasonings to my liking and i know i added some of paula deens house seasoning to the chicken. I've always been a big fan of okra since i was little but i can see how if you have never had it before you would think it's weird and slimy lol. I like it though! 5 stars lots of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Calloway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Very tasty. I don't have a lot of experience cooking with okra, but had a bit of it fresh. It was delicious in the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I didn't have cream of mushroom soup or brown rice so I used 1 can of coconut milk and 1 cup of basmati rice. I added fresh okra and tomatoes from my garden and added salt, cracked pepper and several spices. I baked at 400 for 45 minutes and it came out perfect. This recipe was quick, easy, very flavorful, and my family loved it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I don't like okra so I couldn't give it a higher rating but it isn't a bad recipe. Okra is very common/popular in Japan where we live so thought I would give it another chance and this looked promising. I sauteed the frozen okra with garlic before mixing the rest of the ingredients just because I love garlic. I also left out the chicken since I'm a vegetarian. I thought it was yummy but okra is okra. My kids really hated the okra. It was quite filling and comforting and I would make it again with another vegetable. Maybe carrots or broccoli but I would put the broccoli in in the last 20 minutes or so and would probably use frozen broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
If I had to make this dish again, I would make the rice separately and pour the cream of mushroom/ chicken mixture over it. My rice never seemed to get soft when I baked it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States