Okra, Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This recipe just doesn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
DH and I couldn't even eat this. There was no flavor aside from the okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I used fresh okra. It came-out with a texture of raw eggs- yuck. Oh well for trying to eat okra healthy I guess I'll stick to frying it from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
The rice didn't cook up. Texture wasn't appetizing. I would prob say to use instant rice and fresh sliced okra instead of frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SJJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Love Okra, and LOVE how this recipe has REAL veggies and brown rice. Some of the other recipes have a full days worth of sodium and less than a gram of fiber (2 cans of soup Plus a packet of onion soup mix... plus.... salty crackers or cereal And butter? I feel good serving this and variations with other veggies to my family often. Yes, do up the cook time at least 5 minutes since brown rice cooks so long. And This is great with avariety of veggies- frozen spinach etc. If you want more flavor just add dried or suateed onions, garlic of herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
My husband and I LOVED this recipe. Not only is it delish but it took me 5 mintues to prepare, only dirtied a measuring cup and a casserole dish, and took one hour to bake. I even used frozen chicken breashets! Towards the end of baking I did cut up the breasts to get more flavor. I also used 1.25 cups water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Very bland, needs quite a bit of revision.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I tweeked this recipe until almost completely different dish! I needed basic recipe for what I had in mind, so this wiorked out great. I used box of Zatarans Jambalaya mix with can of rotel tomatoes, one cup of water. added the okra and nestled the chicken in it. There is no need to add spices, of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPARKLE33
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This was actually quite good! I love okra, so I was thrilled to find something EASY to use it in. Substitutions I made: I melted 2T of butter in the pan as the oven preheated, and then I baked 6 chicken legs for 30 minutes at 400 before turning the heat down to 350. I transfered the chicken to a plate and let it rest while I mixed the rice ingredients. I used basmati rice instead of brown, and a soup can of milk instead of water. I also used cream of chicken soup. Finally, I added a can of french style green beans. I baked this dish for 50 minutes tightly covered with foil and it when my whole house smelled great I knew it was done. Wow! So easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLE33
Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe, but, decided to add a little Cajun flair to it. I added 1 10 oz. can of Rotel Diced Tomatoes with green chiles, and used 7/8 cup Swanson Box Chicken Broth instead of water. I cut back on the water because of the water in the Rotel. I also sauteed 1/2 onion, 1/2 bell pepper, parsley, and green onions in 2 tblspns. butter and added this to the mixture. Even though I added chicken broth, I still ended up adding about 1/4 tsp. of salt. I used red pepper instead of black pepper. Be careful, the Rotel is already peppered. This added a great flair to an already excellent recipe. I did extend the cooking time to 1 hr. 15 mins. to get the rice to cook properly. Hope you enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States