Okra, Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Very bland, awful consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ann marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
A great base recipe. This turned out great because I added my own Cajun seasoning to it, as well as a bunch of garlic salt, oregano, thyme, salt and pepper. Boyfriend loved it...drumsticks didn't cook on it... I later pan-fried them--otherwise 350 for an hour works well. 1/2 a bag of frozen okra was more than enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I wasn't sure what to expect when I made this, partly because I had never had okra before in my life. it turned out really good. The chicken, espcially, was nice and tender. The only reason I rated it 4 instead of 5 was because I had to substitute cayenne for the paprika, so I can't gauge how it was supposed to taste. The cayenne was still good, just a bit on the spicier side. I also added some other frozen veggies that I had, along with some canned corn, which I think added some nice texture. One thing I will say is if I make it again, I won't use white rice instead of brown. Some it it was still undercooked when it came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reedsport, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Giving this 5 stars because it was a nice change, tasted great, and soooo easy! I had chicken breasts already cooked in the crockpot, so shredded them on top and baked covered in foil for about 35 mins until instant rice was cooked. We served ours with apple sauce and low fat cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Several change are required to make this dish work. This recipe was quite bland. Also, it required 90 minutes, not 45. The okra protein blended with the cream of mushroom soup to create a slimy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I think I missed something because I love rice, okra and chicken but it literally had no flavor!! I thought the generous portion of pepper and paprika I added would help but I wonder what we could do different to make it better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebekahjb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I made this for my mom who loves okra and she thought it was amazing. I read some of the other reviews and baked it longer so the rice would cook and it worked perfectly. I also added a few peppers to make it a little spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Delicious! I used white rice instead because I didn't have brown. I also baked the chicken the night before. I cooked the soup mix for 23 minutes and then added chicken for another 20 minutes. Easy great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Great base- I added mushrooms and used fresh spinach instead of Okra. Seasoned with pepper, garlic salt and chili pepper for a kick. Also topped chickend with dry onion soup mix. Turned out great, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
rice did not cook, okra was very gooey. no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States